New SSD not mounting in 2008 MP

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by irishgrizzly, Mar 25, 2011.

  1. irishgrizzly macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #1
    I'm not sure if it's DOA or just not inserted it correctly, but my new 3'5 OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD is not mounting. I've screwed it into one of the sleds and pushed it home until it is flush with the other drives. It's not showing under disk utility or when I boot into Windows.

    There's about a half centimetre gap between the SSD and the top of the sled — perhaps this is the issue? (I didn't want to screw too tightly)
     
  2. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
  3. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #3
    Does it show up in your SATA tree in System Profiler?
     
  4. irishgrizzly thread starter macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #4
    No, not there.

    That's a good idea, I have a NAS drive with a spare bay. I'll test this tomorrow. The bay in the MP where I installed had another HD in it's place and working well. So I don't think the Mac itself is the problem.
     
  5. Vereina macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    #5
    I have just purchased exactly the same SSD for my 2008 Mac Pro.

    I had difficulty getting it to fit into the sled. The screws seemed slightly too large, and not perfectly aligned with the holes on the SSD. In the end, I used only the two screws furthest from the connector, with the SSD at a slight angle to enable its connectors to slot into the socket.

    This does not seem ideal, by any means, but does seem to be working (to the extent that I have been able to format it and am currently copying my boot drive using Disk Utility).

    If anybody can suggest how to make it fit better, I'd be grateful to hear how. (If this 120Gb one works ok as a boot device, I'm planning to purchase a larger second SSD for data, but am slightly reluctant to have the SSDs fitted in this slightly unsatisfactory way.)

    Thanks ....
     
  6. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #6
    Are you able to mount it outside of the sled? I tried the cd trick when I had an issue with a sled not seating the SSD in completely. Once I figured it it was the sled I sent it back and they sent me a new one. But see if you can mount it without using the dock.
     
  7. irishgrizzly thread starter macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #7
    I ended up attaching the the drive minus the sled to get it working. I've placed it on the left most drive, the one above the DVD drive. This meant it drooped down, so I propped it up with a little foam block. It's been working almost a year (Touch wood ;)).
     
  8. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #8
    LOL.. I didn't even see the date on this one. Well glad to see you got it working! Especially for a year or so! DOH on me.. :eek::D
     

Share This Page