NEW to APPLE and SEEKING HELP BUYING!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by LxTxNx, Jul 9, 2007.

1. LxTxNx macrumors 6502

LxTxNx

After a year and a half my COMPAQ notebook came to its end... I'm not too sad about it though. I wanted to get a Mac notebook as soon as soon as it released with Mac OS X Leopard (October). but, my current notebook had other plans. I don’t need it for work or anything I just want it for entertainment but I REALLY HATE SLOW computers so help me out. I found this Mac Book (black) on CL here in the Bay Area I'm new to Apple the only items that I currently own are all iPods (3 dif generations) a iPod Nano, and a iPhone. So I really don't know much about how old This one is. So I would like your help in seeing if it worth looking at. If not would you recommend me just getting the new now for $1499.99 + Tax? ALSO how much is the Leopard upgrade going to cost when it's released? Is it worth just to wait for it?

Please help me in my quest for a mac.

All help is appreciated.

Thanks,
    :D

this is the link to the deal i found on CL is it didnt work on the link above. http://sfbay.craigslist.org/sfc/sys/365295127.html

2. gnasher729 macrumors P6

gnasher729

Before you buy any second hand Macintosh, have a look at the refurbished section at the Apple store. www.apple.com/store, click on "Deals", then "Refurbished Macs".

These are Macs that have been returned to Apple for any reason; 15-20% cheaper than a new one, full warranty, and no traces of use. Usually cheaper than what you find on eBay or Craigslist, and you know who you are dealing with.

3. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

Leopard should be $129 it it follows new OS releases in the past. However, you may want to wait for some updates. Therefore, some people could justify getting it now, and having months of use.

4. LxTxNx thread starter macrumors 6502

LxTxNx