new to imac.. and macs in general 9coming from pc)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by webstersp, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. webstersp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    #1
    I have always use pc, last week my friend showed me is brand new Imac 27 with Logic 9 and I fell in love with this program and this machine!

    So I sarted searching and browsing the web about the Imac 27 since I new nothing about it. Just to let you know I always builded my pc.

    1st Question: Can I change or add memory (not from apple) without voiding waranty? Because on apple.ca to go from 2gb to 4gb it cost 220$ to upgrade.
    and can we use better memory (haven't check waht they are using in the imac yet)

    2: Can I add a second hardrive, is there space in it for it (not a ssd) and does it void waranty?

    3: Anything I should know before I switch from pc to mac? (I hate windows!!)

    4: i wanted to buy my new Imac in the month of march, shoul i wait for the next realease?

    Thanks
     
  2. SpitUK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    #2
    1) Yes you can.

    2) You will void the warranty.

    3) Not really, I switched in March of this year coming from 20 years of PC's. I find OSX to work much better for me in my working style.

    4) Up to you. Although March is getting pretty close to the annual refresh. I bought my 1st iMac in March this year and now im on my second!

    Go for it.
     
  3. iDutchman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NL
    #3
    1. yes you can. OWC, Newegg or Crucial are some common brands you can buy from. 2x 4GB sticks would run you about 160 dollars (NuRam from OWC), give or take.

    2. SSD are possible, although I'm not sure of a second conventional HD. You might look it up if the secondary bay has the space to fit such a big drive. Otherwise replacing your superdrive (CD/DVD) could be an option.

    3. No, you'll learn on the go, although it's quite self explanatory. But that could be because I am very used to Macs and don't think the Window way.

    4. These iMacs have been updated in August, so are relatively at the beginning of their product lifecyle. If you nee one now, just buy it. Otherwise (March) I'd say wait and see. If rumors are upon us at that time concerning new releases, you'll know it just in time.

    So yeah.
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
  5. webstersp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    #5
    thanks guys

    I want to use it to record my music. But without a second hard drive...
    I don't like to record on external hard drives (too slow) but I saw something called time machine on macs.
    If I understand with this I could save my songs, logic 9 work on my internal hard drive and this would make a copy (protection0 on the external hard drive?
     
  6. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    Time Machine makes hourly backups of folders (on your internal or any external HDD) you haven't excluded onto another HDD, most of the times to an external HDD, connected via USB or Firewire.

    As your iMac has Firewire 800, a Firewire 800 HDD is more than capable of being used as a scratch drive for your audio work, unless you need an external audio device connected via Firewire 800.

    Apple - Mac OS X - What is Time Machine?
    Mac 101: Time Machine

    both links found via "mac os x time machine"
     
  7. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    Adding memory does not void the warranty... adding that second HDD will.
     
  8. webstersp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    #8
    My soundcard will be using the Firewire port so I can't use firewire for my exterbnal HD.
    I'll have to add a USB external HD wich is not fast enough for home recording.
     
  9. Corruptitudes macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    #9
    Get an external hard drive that has an additional firewire port on the enclosure, and then you can daisy chain....
     
  10. webstersp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    #10
    No lost in speed if i do that?
    if you can link me an HDD with that option :p
     
  11. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #11
    Almost every external HDD with Firewire 800 has two Firewire 800 ports, as almost every HDD with Firewire 400 has to Firewire 400 ports.

    Check if you external sound device is able to be daisy chained, as it will be the last unit in the chain.
     
  12. webstersp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    #12
  13. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #13
    As that device has only one Firewire 400 port, it can only be the last unit in a chain of Firewire devices. The 610 and 40 can be daisy chained as far as I have gathered via searching for it, but only because they have two Firewire ports.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. webstersp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    #14
    I'll give it a try!
    For external hard drive, are there any fovarite on this forum!?
     

Share This Page