New to Mac. A few silly questions

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by trlyka, Dec 26, 2011.

1. trlyka macrumors 6502a

trlyka

Hello,

A few weeks ago my Dell quit on me for at least the 3rd time this year only to be resuscitated by reistalling Windows and backing up the hard drive AGAIN. :rolleyes:

I kept hinting at wanting the Macbook Pro, so Santa got me a new 17" for Christmas :D And not a minute too soon!

I have always had Windows machines (mostly Dell), so I am new to this OS. We have iPhones and iPads, but the Macbook is a learning curve.

I haven't had a lot of time to play with it, but I did have a few questions to start with.

I have Yahoo IM and I noticed the Chat and main window for it on Mac is not the standard window I had on Windows. It's more Mac loking id you will. Is there a way to get the Yahoo windows to display like they did in Windows?

When typing, how do you go to the beginning (Home) or to the end (End)?

Page Scrolling....Up is down and down is up? Is there a way to make it the other way?

How do you bring up the docking station without minimizing/shrinking the window?

Is there a TABS option for Safari?

Ok, that's all for now. I have more but I'll go easy on you the first time ;)

Thanks!

2. simsaladimbamba

Maybe there are themes for that software, but Mac OS X looks different than Windows. What does hinder you with the current look?

CMD + ArrowUp/ArrowDown.

System Preferences > General or Trackpad > Use ... scrolling. I don't have 10.7 to confirm.

Do you mean the Dock?
    [​IMG]

CMD+T opens a new Tab.

To learn more about Mac OS X:

3. zeemeerman2 macrumors 6502

Home and end, as well as page-up and page-down can be done by pressing the fn key and one of the arrow keys (Home is fn-left arrow key, for example)
    Delete can be done by pressing fn-backspace, for that matter. Insert is a key you could miss, to finish the group of keyboard keys. (though it is available on a bigger Apple keyboard)