New to MAC Gaming What RPG/RTS?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by slinky1, Aug 9, 2008.

  1. slinky1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #1
    Had my MacBook Pro since Jan 2008 .Wow what have i been missing.
    Want to get a really good RPG/RTS.The only game i've got is Neverwinter Nights 2 and thats great.I want to use the mouse and keyboard so can anyone suggest whats got great graphics and story line.I've seen some threads about Warcraft 3.Do i need to start with the original?
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated
    All the best from Merry England :confused:
     
  2. punchkidz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #2
    Hopefully they will fix the drivers so you can play DIABLO 2. However try these games:

    - Civilization 4
    - Age of Empires 3
    - World of Warcraft
    - Warcraft 3
    - Command and Conquer : TW
     
  3. Sijmen macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    #3
    Starting out with Warcraft 3 (skipping the previous two) is fine if you ask me. I did so and I could follow along nicely. Also I think the older two haven't aged that well—at least Warcraft 1.
     
  4. slinky1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #4
    Warcraft 3

    Got MacBook Pro 15'' Will Warcraft 3 Run and Look good and has it got a good story line and graphics ?:eek:
     
  5. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #5
    WC3 ran fantasically well on my 4 year old Powerbook so I think it'll run well on your MBP :)

    It ran well on my macbook too, tho i only tried it out for a little bit. There's a demo downloadable for sampling.

    Lovely storyline. I agree with the above posters, probably not worth playing through the first two either. WC3 is totally self contained anyway.
     
  6. tYsopz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Location:
    Norway
    #6
    Starcraft is still the best RTS around. You might want to play with the gamespeed on something else than fastest though or you might be intimidated :p

    You can get it from blizzard's digital store for just 15$ including the expansion.
     
  7. elmateo487 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #7
    The original game Red Baron ran very well on my our PC back when it was released in 1990. For some reason i doubt it would work now on Vista. :D (in fact. Looked it up. It doesn't)

    So his question is valid! Haha. Compatibility is lost in OS updates.
     
  8. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #8
    Are you considering Boot Camp/Windows as an option for game time? :)
     

Share This Page