New to the iphone world--Need Help

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by fudgecopper, Jan 7, 2011.

1. fudgecopper macrumors newbie

Hello everyone,

I am completely new to the iphone world. I have never used text messaging or anything but a simple cell phone to make phone calls and to check voice mails. I am really interested in getting the new iphone because I love the idea of being able to speak to friends and family "face to face." I've also recently jumped on the itunes bandwagon and have begun using that as well, lol. So, I just want to ask you technology savvy people out there how I go about the following scenario:

I have an Att family plan. I just have a cheapo phone that basically does nothing else but makes phone calls. I want to switch to the iphone w/o having to extend my two year contract. I don't qualify for any special discounts to upgrade my phone with them. It makes sense for me to just buy on ebay or craigslist right? Well, lets say I do. What then? Can I just put my current sim card in the new iphone and then start using it? I'm pretty sure I would have to update my plan to include messaging/data plans won't I? Then won't that have to be a 2 year contract anyway?

I am so confused. Someone please help me!

2. leerocks01 macrumors newbie

Better yet, wait a little while Verizon has just confirmed that they will release the iPhone 5 this February.

3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

You can buy one from ebay or CL if you dont qualify for an upgrade yet.
    Then you can go to AT&T and have them setup your account with the features and plan you want.
    It will not extent your contract, you will just have to add an iphone data plan to your current account.
    $15 for 200mb or $25 for 2GB per month.

4. fudgecopper thread starter macrumors newbie