New Update - Kills 3G Speed?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Wile-E, Aug 18, 2008.

  1. Wile-E macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #1
    I've been running speed tests using testmyiphone.com since the update. Shockingly, I have not been able to get better speeds than 0.35 Mbps (usually averaging about 0.25). I am in downtown Chicago, so we have decent coverage.

    Anyone else experiencing this?
     
  2. MaxxTraxx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #2
    I'm sure no update killed the 3G speed. As.. well, the coverage already sucks.
     
  3. billyripkin macrumors 6502

    billyripkin

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    I have 2.0.1 and was downtown Chicago all day and the speed sucked. It is not the update.
     
  4. Wile-E thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #4
    Great, allow me to quote the Simpsons - "I didn't think it was physically possible, but this both sucks and blows."
     
  5. MaxxTraxx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #5

    Trust me, there is no 3G around here. Very depressing. Elmhurst, Oak Park, 3G connection - 1-2 bars
     
  6. agbot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #6
    I wouldn't put a lot of faith in testmyiphone.com results. I'm still running 2.0.1, but I just ran several 3G speed tests back to back and they ranged from 229Kbps to 489Kbps.
     
  7. spamdumpster macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #7
    I just got a GPRS-like 44 Kbps in downtown Boston. Awesome, this thing flies as fast as my blackberry 7230 did 4 years ago
     
  8. mrtune macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    #8
    I agree. In Westchester, LaGrange, Lyons and parts of Batavia I get 1-2 bars. I don't see 5 bars unless I'm on an expressway.

    Chicago area 3G blows!
     
  9. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    Sigh. Killed my 3G speed. Has been blazing fast for the past two weeks on 2.0 and 2.0.1 (800+ kbps) and now it's 90 kbps in the same exact spot on my desk. :mad:
     
  10. pj rage macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #10
    Right after the update my 3G literally would not load anything. Tried a bunch of sites and nada. Did a reset and it got a little bit better, but very sluggish. Another reset and it seems to be back to normal - 1.04mbps, 1.22mbps, and just now 1.45mbps. Pretty fast, but not any faster than before. Signal is also exactly the same, no differences here. I was definitely really worried when 3g wasn't working at all though!!! Try restarting and see if it helps..

    EDIT: My latency on that 1.45mbps was 1745ms. WAY higher than it used to be.. used to be like 200ms. In fact all of my tests since 2.0.2 have had much higher latency that I used to get. Could be the time or day or something I guess?
     
  11. Wile-E thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #11
    Not to worry, the bars don't seem to make a difference. My 0.18 to 0.35 speeds were when I had 5 bars.

    Is this the iPhone or AT&T?
     
  12. Rotary8 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    #12
    hmm... seeing how i just did a jailbreak to 2.0.1 i'll wait for a better update
     
  13. purpleclad macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #13
    5 bars of 3G in Kansas City, just ran the test and I'm getting 1.45 Mbps.
     
  14. agbot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #14
    I see the exact same 3G signal strength and performance before and after the 2.0.2 update.
     
  15. deannnnn macrumors 68000

    deannnnn

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Location:
    New York City & South Florida
    #15
    No problems here in Fort Lauderdale after the update.
    Just got 1.05 Mbps.... which is a little slower than usual but the entire network has been going slow today since there is a Tropical Storm outside right now....
     
  16. FearlessFreep macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    #16
    There are so many variables in this that it's impossible to attribute slower (or faster) speeds to any one thing. It is highly unlikely that 2.0.2 did anyting to slow down speeds.
     
  17. daihard macrumors 6502a

    daihard

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #17
    Agreed. I get about 1.1 - 1.2 Mbps with 2.0.2 installed, which are roughly identical to the numbers I used to get with the older firmware.
     
  18. kane4fire macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #18
    Put the SIM card into my old motorola non-PDA phone and it browses websites in 3G with 3-4 bars and 0-1 when I am using my iphone. How great that a phone I bought years ago for $30 can get better reception than one that costs a significant amount more.
     
  19. jecapaga macrumors 601

    jecapaga

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #19
    Unfortunately within the last couple weeks I haven't even turned on 3G at home because I typically got about 500kps on a good try. Tonight I tried before the update and I was getting like 1.4+ but it randomly went down but still up from 500. After the update I'm getting the same. ATT must have done something recently to up my 3G in my area. Same bars...two.
     
  20. richg916 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    #20
    After update my phone went to "NO SERVICE" which had never happened before while at home. Hope it doesn't stay that way.
     
  21. Manzana macrumors 6502a

    Manzana

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #22
  22. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
  23. pj rage macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #24
    +1, I get the same exact speeds with 1 bar 3G as I do with 5 bars, and it's been that way since 2.0. I can easily get over 1mbps with just 1 bar. I never care what my 3G bars are, as long as I have one, I consider it as good as 5 because it's never proven any different. Edge on the other hand, seems VERY bar dependent. 1 bar = no chance of loading data, 2 bars = very low chance, and 3 bars is where it starts to become a possibility of loading anything. Hell, even with 5 bars I can't load anything half the time (if I'm moving, say, in the car). Either my edge is 100x worse than what you all dealt with on your 1st gen iphones, or you guys have been ready to rip your hair out for the last year.
     
  24. AustinSTI macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #25
    The update DOESN'T kill 3G speeds. I got 196 kB/s this morning on 3G which is a little better than usual but within the normal. That's with 2 bars showing (though I still contend the signal meter isn't reflective of the actual signal strength).
     

Share This Page