New User - accessing my NAS

Discussion in 'macOS' started by aeronk, Aug 27, 2016.

  1. aeronk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    #1
    Hi all,

    I am a new user expecting delivery of my first Mac this week. I currently use a windows PC and have a NAS attached. Will I be able to access the NAS to read and write or will I have to reformat the NAS drives. Its a Zyxel NAS with 2 x 1TB drives set up as Jbod. My ITunes library is currently on the NAS as well.

    The plan is to eventually remove the Windows PC and just use the new Mac so looking to make sure all necessary files are on the Nas providing it will be accessible without starting from scratch.
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    You will be able to access the NAS just fine and you do not need to change the drive format.
     
  3. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #3
    I've also got a Zyxel and I was able to find the OSx version of their software on their website.
    You shouldn't need it to access it but you might need it if you ever want to change the shares or to turn on/off other features.
     
  4. aeronk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    #4
    Thanks both Weaselboy and Gjwilly for confirming that. Looking forward to diving in and using the Mac.
     
  5. aeronk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    #5
    OK, so iMac arrived and all is working well except for connecting to my NAS. When setting up the iMac I connected to the NAS and entered credentials but now connection seems to be a bit flakey. I can connect manually each time, but if I rely on automatic connection, it doesn't connect for around 15 minutes and sometimes loses the connection.

    Adding the NAS to Login Items will load it during startup but ticking the 'hide' box doesn't hide the Finder window and I have to close it from the desktop each time.

    Does this sound like known issue or is there something else I need to try?

    Using OSX 10.11.6
     

Share This Page