Newbie MacBook Pro problem

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by e7000, Aug 2, 2013.

1. e7000 Guest

Hello. Have just purchased my first mac which is a mid 2010 macbook pro. I bought it second hand, it's immaculate, and the seller said he had restored everything, applied all the updates and it was running mountain lion. So far so good. But. He also said it came with ilife as standard. Erm - where exactly do I find this? It is not showing on the dock at the bottom of the screen. I believe it includes itunes, iphoto and various other things, but can only see itunes on the dock. So - am I right in assuming that ilife is not present? Or am I just not looking in the right place?

Also - and this is a biggy. The keyboard seems stiff. Now I have never used a mac before, so I would like to know if this is normal to have a stiffer keyboard, as I am seriously thinking of asking for a refund just on this one issue. You have to press quite hard to type (I'm a fast typist and not used to having to do this). If you don't press quite hard enough it misses a letter causing typos, or not putting spaces in where they should be. If this is normal with a mac keyboard - having to press harder, then I am stuck with it. However, if it isn't normal, I will send it back. Thanks for your time!

2. jav6454 macrumors P6

jav6454

iLife is Garageband, iPhoto, iMovie. All found in the applications folder.

If the keyboard seems stiff, go to an Apple Store and tryout the keyboards for same type of Macs. If they match, then its good, if not, contact seller.

3. e7000 thread starter Guest

Thank you for that. So - I am totally new to the mac - is applications folder where you click on 'go' at the top and then 'applications' on the drop down menu? Or is it when you click on launchpad on the dock (or do both do the same?!) If so, I only have itunes in there.