NewEgg, 16gb Corsair DDR3 1333, $119

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ccrew, Feb 28, 2012.

  1. throAU macrumors 601

    throAU

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #2
    Damn..... ram prices have crashed hard.

    I bought my MBP in august. Price to upgrade to 16gb back then (not apple of course) was about $1500... (so i went for 8, lol :D)
     
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    This is actually insane!!!!

    Too bad I need storage, otherwise i would purchase a MBP right now!
     
  3. bigdaddyc188 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #4
    How can i find out if these will work in my mid 2010 17" i7 MBP?
     
  4. diannao macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    #5
    16GB only works in the 2011 models.
     
  5. TexasChemE macrumors 6502a

    TexasChemE

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
  6. Ccrew thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #7
    You need to use the code...
     
  7. TexasChemE macrumors 6502a

    TexasChemE

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #8
    Whoops, my mistake =/

    Unfortunately, I don't think i'd ever use 16Gb of RAM though.
     
  8. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
  9. Adamantoise macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #10
    Awesome find!

    I think I'll be fine with 8GB though.
     
  10. macbook-dan, Feb 28, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2012

    macbook-dan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #11
    I went through 2 sets of this RAM - the packaging is super cheap, so the first pair of DIMMS had damaged contacts. The 2nd pair seem fine at first, however I started getting Kernel Panics, about 1 per day. I eventually got an RMA, ate 15% restocking fee and return shipping and got the Crucial. I just installed it yesterday and all seems much better so far.

    On a side note, I had called Corsair - they claim this RAM is not compatible with MBP or Apple products, however they do make a model that is.

    Just be careful with this particular RAM, it's caused me a lot of headaches in my early 2011 15" MBP.
     
  11. Acejam2k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #12
    I also had issues with this Corsair RAM kit about 1-2 months ago. I RMA'd it back to NewEgg.

    I ended up picking up a 16GB Crucial RAM kit. Haven't looked back. :D
     
  12. BasilFawlty macrumors 6502

    BasilFawlty

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #13
    I just order the Corsair from Frys - the one someone above said was told was not compatable with Apple - we shall see. Keeping my fingers crossed. Guess if I have issues, I'll go with Crucial next time.
     
  13. LordDextro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    #14
    Value Select 16GB Corsair DDR3 1333

    Just FYI, this ram "value select" does not work on the 2011 macbook pros. I installed these first and couldn't get the computer to boot up. After calling the company, it was relayed to me that I needed the "Mac RAM" 16gb kit. These were specifically tested for the MacBooks. It costs about 10 bucks (on average) more. The "value select" does work on some MacBooks, but there is something about my (late) 2011 one that doesn't jive.

    Love,
    Lord Dextro
     
  14. mac jones macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #15
    i'm using this (regular non-mac version) in a Macbook Pro late 2011 17"

    Now this is a 17", and apparently these will work (mine does), but the other sizes (13" and 15" ) may not?

    I'm haven't a clue, except mine works fine.
     
  15. thebritishguy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    #16
    I have been using the 16GB "Non Mac" Corsair version on my Late 2011 13" MBP

    Been hitting them pretty hard with simultaneous running of 4 VMs, Office, FCP-X, Safari and Football Manager 2012, no issues yet

    JM
     
  16. LordDextro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    #17
    Hmm... must be a hit and miss then. Good to know.
     
  17. Guru53 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    #18
    Wow that's a great price for some great RAM. Already got 8GB myself and see no reason to upgrade at the moment. I'll probably wait a little while until prices drop even more. Anyone know if the 2011 MBP will support 32 GB of RAM when 16GB SODIMM modules are avaible?
     
  18. mac jones macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #19
    I think maybe.

    probably up to 48gb or something like that, for 64bit.
     
  19. BasilFawlty macrumors 6502

    BasilFawlty

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #20
    That's a little reassuring. I have an early 2011 13" MBP and just ordered this "non-Mac" Corsair. The price was low enough I thought I'd take a chance with it. Will report in this thread what the results are once I get it installed. If it doesn't work in my Mac, I may see if we can put it in my Daughter-in-Law's PC laptop.
     
  20. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #21
    I've been using a total of 48GB of the Corsair 8GB SODIMMs since October 2011 without any issues in 2011 Mac mini, 2011 15" MacBook Pro and 2010 27" iMac. I also sold a 16GB kit (plus data doubler and 750GB WD Scorpio Black) to a friend who uses it in his production 2011 15" MacBook Pro. When I initially purchased the memory I tested all SODIMMs with Rember and Geekbench stress tests.
     
  21. BasilFawlty macrumors 6502

    BasilFawlty

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #22
    Ok, I just installed the 16GB Corsair RAM from Frys in my Early 2011 MBP. So far so good. I ran the extended diagnostics and no problems found. This is part number CMSO16GX3M2A1333C9 (2 x 8GB).

    I expect this will be more memory than I'll ever need in this MBP, but hey, it was only $109! Will report later if I run into any problems later on.
     
  22. Acejam2k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #23
  23. BasilFawlty macrumors 6502

    BasilFawlty

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #24
    I knew that going in. I took a chance. So far so good. The specs for the two Corsair RAM (the "Apple certified" and regular) are identical. In fact I called Corsair and the tech told me that the two part numbers CMSO16GX3M2A1333C9 (regular, which I bought) and CMSA16GX3M2A1333C9 are in fact the exact same thing off the same production line. The "A" version for Apple is just run thorugh a stricter set of tests to "Certify" it for Apple. The first thing I did was run extended diagnostics and it ran without a problem. Time will tell, but so far it looks good. I hear what you're saying and it's not bad advice, but for $109 I took a chance.
     
  24. dacoolest macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    #25
    is there a difference between the apple's RAM and this one (when it comes to speed or quality etc) Or are they just the same and its totally safe to user RAM from other manufactures ?
     

Share This Page