Next-Gen Mac Pro GPU "AMD 7970" to launch next week.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Amethyst, Dec 17, 2011.

  1. Amethyst, Dec 17, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2011
  2. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
  3. jchall30 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #3
    How will this work with Thunderbolt on the new Macpro if there is one? Will it be a custom card for Apple with the Thunderbolt ports built onto it? I have a 2010 Macpro and would definitely want to put this in there if it will be possible or Apple makes a upgrade kit.
     
  4. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #4
    jchall30 - a lot will depend on the power requirements for the card.
     
  5. jchall30 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #5
    I guess what I'm asking is since the current Macpros aren't compatible with Thunderbolt would this card still work if it had TB ports on it? I know this is a question that remains to be answered. Just curious.
     
  6. steveOooo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  7. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    I hope they release a Mac version on time for the first time. And if they do release this, it would look like I have to upgrade to Lion.
     
  8. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #8
    I think Lion is the first OSX release I've had zero interest in...
     
  9. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #9
    Dittoz
     
  10. Odd macrumors newbie

    Odd

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
  11. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #11
    x3. Makes sense on a 2010+ Macbook but makes little sense on a desktop. It cripples my 2008 Macbook even with an SSD. Just doesn't feel smooth anymore. When testing is done or I upgrade laptops, the 2008 will end up with 10.6 as it runs awesome.
     
  12. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #12
    Personally I like lion. I don't use the spaces feature much because of my dual screens but I like the subtle changes they made from SL. Also if I can get support for the 7000 series will be great.
     
  13. Caesar_091 macrumors regular

    Caesar_091

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Italy
    #13
    +1
     
  14. Santabean2000 macrumors 68000

    Santabean2000

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #14
    Me too. A shame, really.
     
  15. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #15
    That's about as likely to happen as Apple spinning off the professional product divisions rather than leaving them to languish and fizzle out. We're still waiting for the Radeon HD 6000 series to make it to the Mac Pro.

    I'd be more hopeful that AMD will just spec the cards to use a universal ROM.
     
  16. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #16
    Eventually, this will happen as more vendors/board makers shift over to EFI/EBC based firmware. It's already started, but it's going to take some time.
     
  17. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #17
    I want to wait for Kepler but I want a new video card in January...
     
  18. JordanNZ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #18
    I doubt you'll get the 6000 series in the mac pro. Looks like they'll skip it and go straight to the 7000.

    http://netkas.org/?p=1009
     
  19. gullySn0wCat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #19
    Jordan, there are already 69xx drivers in 10.7.2, with early (names) support for 79xx in 10.7.3

    I think 79xx will be high end then 69xx low end.


    7970 = 3GB of RAM... DROOL!:D:D:D:D

    7990 = 6GB :eek:
     
  20. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #20
    Thunderbolt doesn't require extra power (at least nothing notable). It's the bandwidth and design that's an issue.

    Apple used to ship graphics cards that could self power CRTs. Thunderbolt's power requirements are way way way less. :)
     
  21. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #21
    Keep in mind those AGP cards were not standard. They had a special power connector.
     
  22. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #22
    Of course. But my point is finding another 10w a port is no issue compared to finding a place for the Thunderbolt controller physically along with where to get the extra 4x of PCI lanes per port.
     
  23. JordanNZ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #23
    There are 6000 series drivers in the current build of Lion.. But not for the 6900 series (desktop).

    Which brings us to this... http://netkas.org/?p=1030

    And indeed.. Those new cards look pretty nice!!!
     
  24. gullySn0wCat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #24
    I'm sure there will be some kind of trickery to get TB working on these new cards. Or Apple will just continue making the 27" ACD, then have a TB port on the mobo. ATI cards come with MDP standard now :)

    Jordan, 69xx will work with a patch off Netkas' site with QE/CI, just no FSAA ;).
     
  25. JordanNZ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #25
    Of course. But I'm talking official support ;)
    We shall see soon enough.

    Exciting though... The next refresh could be very interesting.
     

Share This Page