Nexus 4 shown working with LTE after simple tweak

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by digital.l0gic, Nov 23, 2012.

  1. digital.l0gic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    #1
    Haha I knew this was theoretically possible..but It's really refreshing to see it actually working! awesome work by the XDA Dev community.

    PS: Btw Tmobile uses Band 4 for LTE as well! :D

    Edited to Add:

    Vid of LTE working on N4

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=GXOY9EVZ4vA#!
     
  2. nickchallis92 macrumors 6502a

    nickchallis92

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #2
    that's amazing. This phone has become even more of a bargain
     
  3. dalbir4444 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    #3
    I wonder if Google will disable this in a future patch. I hope not. Although LTE's not very useful for me, this is still great news for other people.
     
  4. ChazUK macrumors 603

    ChazUK

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Essex (UK)
    #4
    Anything disabled will be bought back by hackers, I wouldn't worry.

    Great news for those that can use this. :cool: What a freebie!
     
  5. cynics, Nov 23, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2012

    cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
  6. nfl46 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
  7. THE JUICEMAN macrumors 68000

    THE JUICEMAN

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #7
    Who's excited? Me! I hope we can get this working in the states. I think I may stay on AT&T a little longer just in case.
     
  8. Roessnakhan macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    ABQ
    #8
    When the second batch of phones are posted they're going to go even faster now. :eek:
     
  9. daveathall macrumors 68000

    daveathall

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    #9
    I'm not that technically gifted, am I seeing this right, dial in a number and take the option of LTE, if there is a signal thats all there is to it?

    Not that it matters in the UK for me, I am in a no LTE area, but it would be nice to know.
     
  10. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #10
    More proof that the Nexus 4 will work/be featured with the rumored Google+Dish Network LTE network?
     
  11. dalbir4444 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    #11
    I think that would make the early adopters pretty angry.

    Why is this phone still not in stock?:(
     
  12. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #12
    Yep. It's accessed in a similar way the test mode is on an iPhone just by dialing a specific number.
     
  13. daveathall macrumors 68000

    daveathall

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    #13
    Thank you,:) I did access it on my phone but never changed anything, just seems so simple.
     
  14. AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #14
    Can they hurry up and drop a VZW and AT&T LTE compatible version?

    It's ridiculous that ****ing T-Mobile gets a Nexus, but not the big 2
     
  15. digital.l0gic thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    #15
    It will most definitely work with TMobile's LTE as its Rolling out band 4. Not sure about the others though.

    Btw here are some amazing speedtest results.

    [​IMG]

    The main indicator that this is Truly LTE is the Upload speed. There is absolutely no way HSPA+ would get that upload speed.





    The issue is that the Big 2 have been really lackluster in providing updates...usually taking Months to release them..and even add carrier bloatware. This goes against the grain of the Nexus program and I guess Google opted to leave them out due to the fact they were not able to compromise.

    However, This is also a very good indication that Google is going to be its own Phone carrier (the Dish+,Google plan).
     
  16. michaeljohn, Nov 23, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2012

    michaeljohn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    #16
    I want one for Verizon too but it will never happen. Not only did Google brass claim that not including LTE made the Nexus more cost efficient (read:cheap) this is what Andy Rubin said when asked about it.

    “A lot of the networks that have deployed LTE haven’t scaled completely yet — they’re hybrid networks.. which means the devices needed both radios built into them. When we did the Galaxy Nexus with LTE we had to do just that, and it just wasn’t a great user experience.”

    This is just a ridiculous excuse IMO. Why is it that every other high end Android phone can have both GSM and CDMA radios with LTE and perform just fine? :rolleyes: So can the iPhone 5. Bottom line was they were just too cheap to include a fully functioning LTE radio for use with CDMA networks. Full article below.

    I also find it amusing that when the iPhone 4s did not include LTE, a removable battery or SD card slot, every Android fan on the planet (including myself) laughed at it and ripped Apple for not including these things. However, the Nexus 4 comes without LTE, a removable battery or an SD card slot and suddenly the lack of these things are ok now. Pot, meet kettle :)

    http://www.androidguys.com/2012/10/29/no-lte-for-nexus-4-andy-rubin-explains-why/
     
  17. dalbir4444 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    #17
    There's also an almost 100% price difference between the Nexus 4 and iPhone 5. If the Nexus 4 cost $600 off contract, it would be inexcusable. But that's not the case. For the price, it seems to be a very competitive device, save LTE and low storage. If those are crucial to you, then the N4 is not the phone for you.
     
  18. Sincci macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    Finland
    #18
    I thought that the reason for not having LTE had something to do with the fact that in most countries LTE actually requires a special SIM card that usually requires a multi year subscription with the operator (and thus making the non-contract phone once again tied with a contract).
     
  19. nickchallis92 macrumors 6502a

    nickchallis92

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #19
    What a ludicrious argument. One phone costs £239, the other is the most over-priced handset on the market
     
  20. michaeljohn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    #20
    Sorry but the Nexus 4 is considered a "flagship" device. Its unacceptable and Google is missing out on millions of customers and potential sales by only offering a GSM device. Poor choice by them, it will remain a niche device.
     
  21. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #21
    How many people are on CDMA worldwide? How many are on GSM?

    I'm going to bed so I'm not gonna stay up to argue :p
     
  22. dalbir4444 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    #22
    You've repeated this argument way too many times. Clearly this phone isn't for you. There are other great Android phones that have LTE, removable batteries, and Sd-card slots. If you don't like Android, then you can get an iPhone or a Windows Phone. But repeating the same argument won't make this phone have LTE.
     
  23. michaeljohn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    #23
    You never know. Apple finally released a larger iPhone. Maybe if enough people cried about not having a CDMA Nexus 4 they would make one. However, I don't see too many Verizon and Sprint users crying for a Nexus 4. I would like one though :)
     
  24. Dmunjal macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #24
    I have to believe that when VoLTE is available, CDMA will be dead and gone in the US.
     
  25. dalbir4444 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    #25
    Maybe someone could open up a petition. That would be a better way of getting their attention.
     

Share This Page