nMP officially supports 3x5k - New Display?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by triumph71, Jun 27, 2015.

  1. triumph71 macrumors member

    triumph71

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    #1
  2. ixxx69 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    Interesting!

    From there "Using 4K displays and Ultra HD TVs with your Mac" article, this section states:
    So, I guess with 6 TB2 ports, that means three 5K displays. They don't specifically mention whether they support 60Hz as well? I didn't think it supported more than two 4K displays at 60Hz, but they do reference 10.10.3 specifically, so maybe something changed?

    Anyway, I don't know this means a stand-alone Apple 5K display is imminent.
     
  3. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #3
    Funny stuff:

    If you select text like this:
    [​IMG]

    and then paste it and you will get this:

    Connect up to

    Three

    4K

    displays
     
  4. koyoot macrumors 601

    koyoot

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #4
    IMO, its a placeholder, that leaked.


    ;)

    I would love a 21.5 or 24 inch 4K display from Apple...
     
  5. Tucom macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #5
    Wow this is interesting, hopefully a new, updated display is in the works. Following for any more news.
     
  6. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #6
    Or Apple just realizes that most people buy Dell displays for their Mac Pros....
     
  7. Tucom, Jun 27, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2015

    Tucom macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #7

    What are you getting at - was Apple not first out of the gate with a 5K display in their iMac for the consumer? Because someone does something successful, no one else should follow? Good luck with that.

    That's like saying "because technology was progressed by someone else no one else should follow." Because of the positive reaction towards Apple's Retina iMac Dell "realized" people appreciate that technology. So what, they shouldn't have done anything with it because Apple did it first? I don't quite get the point of your post.


    Sorry if I'm misinterpreting your post, but if not

    There are PC forums out there you know...
     
  8. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #8
    You did misinterpret.

    I'm simply saying that the 4K and 5K Dell monitors are very popular with MP6,1 buyers, and Apple might realize that it shouldn't be in that market.

    Support the popular 3rd party monitors, but don't make an Apple-branded 4K or 5K monitor - at least not until Apple systems support single-link connections to them.

    And check the dates - the Dell UP2715K was announced before the 5K Imac .... ;)
     
  9. AidenShaw, Jun 27, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2015

    AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
  10. zesta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #11
    Maybe if there were a way to do 30Hz (which on the Dell UP2715K does not appear possible), but it certainly does not support more than one at 60Hz, as noted in my other thread. I'm not even sure it would support a second monitor at 4K, but I don't have one to test.
     
  11. Stacc macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    #12
    This is probably just keeping up to date with revisions in OS X 10.10.3, which have enabled better support for MST monitors. The macbook pro 15" with discrete video also includes support for 5k displays in its specs. I suspect we will see an Apple 5k display with thunderbolt 3, as this enables sending 2 displayport 1.2 streams over a single cable.
     
  12. ifraaank macrumors regular

    ifraaank

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    Odense C, Denmark
    #13
    Inspecting the page in safari reveals this: http://cl.ly/bmsc

    Why would you name two images 4K, when their content shows 5K?
     
  13. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #14
    They weren't Dell introduced first by about a month but like in the past I think they share a panel so it's close enough.
     
  14. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #15
    Simple, the original images displayed "4K" and were named as such. Someone updated the image files to show 5K and simply used the same names as the previous files. It's slightly lazy, but web developers do stuff like this all the time.
     
  15. maplingstorie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #16
    I is web developer. I approve this lol.
     
  16. deconstruct60 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #17
    As noted above Apple's support article on "Dual Cable" 5K displays mentions the systems capable ( including the Mac Pro) and the Dell monitor is explicitly mentioned there as being supported.

    There are others. HP has one

    http://www8.hp.com/us/en/mpc/monitors/product-detail.html?oid=7130944


    There are a couple of 5K panels coming

    http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/news_archive/32.htm#lg.display_5k

    Apple , Dell , and apparently HP are all using the LG one. So not surprising that the Dell monitor works as most of the "guts" are same as inside of the iMac's display subsystem.


    ViewSonic was showing some at CES ( probably shipping in a few.... unless Apple and Dell are sucking up everything available. )

    http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/news_archive/32.htm#viewsonic_ces


    Not so strange. When the nMP shipped, it appeared with an Apple store addition of a Sharp 4K display. Prior to nMP launch there was talk about how Apple "has to do" a 4K display because the nMP does 4K. They didn't. Dell's Sharp based panel was an early addition to the "works with these 4K monitors" list in same Apple support document alongside the Sharp model.


    Not necessarily. Intel talking up "5K over Thunderbolt 3" at their TBv3 introduction recently is probably a better grounding for the possibility. Not many other folks have done Display docking stations with TB other than Apple. So if Intel alludes to someone working on that kind of offering...... Apple is a good bet.

    These solutions are dual DisplayPort cable monitors. I highly doubt Apple would do one of those. First, Apple isn't really in the general monitor market ( as oppose to the specialized display docking station market ). Second, there is probably going to be a flood of very good offerings from several 3rd parties. If Apple's solution requires TBv3 then the current number of TBv2 system need a dual DP cable based solution for GPUs that can output two independent DP v1.2 streams and MST then back into one screen in the monitor.
     
  17. deconstruct60 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #18
    That article has a link to "use multiple displays with the Mac Pro (late 2013) " at almost the bottom. That covers the 3 4K monitor constraints. 10.10.3 was required for the new MBP 15" model (and the new more affordable iMac model). I suspect they got the code that initial 5K iMac used to a more mature state where could run it out two external DP streams as well as the internal two inside the iMac.

    I would be surprised if many folks would be happy with the performance loaded down with 3 of these. There is another thread were someone tried as second 5K with an and it started to bog down.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/dual-dell-up2715k-monitors-mac-pro-success.1893671/

    three 5K monitors ( unless all dropped back to 30Hz) is probably worse. The update to the Mac Pro's web page is probably pretty close to the "over promise and under deliver" zone than the three 4K monitor capability is/was.


    P.S. on that dual 5k thread about there is a link to hack to get the HP monitor to work... really all that is needed is for Apple to update the displays id with their drivers and validate it. If basically the same panel it wouldn't be too hard. Over time it may happen.
     
  18. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #19
    How is this possible?

    If I'm not mistaken, a 5K 60Hz display signal requires about 26Gbps. Thus 3 5K displays would require 78Gbps of output.

    The nMP has 3 TB2 buses each with 20Gbps capacity for a total of 60Gbps of output.

    Perhaps it could drive 3 5K displays at 30Hz, but who would want that?
     
  19. edanuff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #20
    I'm sure others here are better versed with the way that the Thunderbolt controllers in the nMP work, but I my understanding is that when you hook up a Displayport monitor to the Thunderbolt port, the TB controller uses a "compatibility mode" that basically passes the DP output of the GPU straight through to the TB port, so the 20Gbps bandwidth capacity of the bus doesn't apply.
     
  20. maplingstorie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #21
    The Mac Pro 6,1 iss able to drive 6 TB displays at 2560x1440 @ 60HZ. Dell UP2715K uses MST which means 2 panels at 2560x1440 each combined into one display (5120x2880) so why not?
     
  21. zesta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #22
    5120x2880 is *4 times* the resolution of 2560x1440. That's why :)

    I find it very interesting that Apple is now claiming 3x5K support. Unless there are new 5K displays that are less than 60Hz, I don't see how it is possible. My own testing showed that 2x5K did not work. I will have to test more now that 10.10.4 is out. 2x5K@60Hz seems to me as moderately plausible. 3x5K@60Hz seems completely impossible.
     
  22. maplingstorie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #23
    i see. i've read from somewhere in this forum that multiple 5k monitors work better on the Mac Pro 6,1 on Windows.
     
  23. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #24
    No, it means that the nMP supports 5K displays, if you install OS X 10.11+ on this machine. I do not know why Apple should sell 5K displays. The market is very small and has many competitors.
     
  24. edanuff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #25
    If you read the details of this AMD slide deck, it seems theoretically possible that a D700 could drive 3x5K with the right drivers, or at least that it would drive them for a short time before very bad things started happening ;). In practice, lots of nMP owners have had to have their GPUs replaced just using them under normal conditions.
     

Share This Page