No 3G or Edge symbol?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Lemons!, Nov 29, 2009.

  1. Lemons! macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #1
    I called AT&T and spoke to a woman, she said there's an outage. I live in California near San Francisco. My brother and my friends all have iPhones and their data connection are all working. I told her that and she said it's an outage, but I did not hear any announcements from ATT. It can't be an outage, when only one phone's data is out. There's no symbol where the 3G or Edge should be. Sounds like she's lying. What do I do?

    I've tried restoring and resetting. Nothing works. If I put it on WiFi, it works.
     
  2. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #2
    You don't have 3G or EDGE, so it looks like you have an outage. Wifi has nothing to do with that. Are you confused?
     
  3. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    Yes it can happen. Data outages happen without announcement. Sometimes they are predetermined in order to allocate time for network upgrades. Wi-Fi can be used even when there is a network outage.
     
  4. Lemons! thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #4
    But howcome it's only my phone and not my brother's or my friends?
     
  5. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #5
    Are they in the same room as you?
     
  6. Lemons! thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #6
    yes
     

Share This Page