No more than 3 Gb RAM?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Habberkuk, Sep 1, 2013.

  1. Habberkuk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Location:
    Under your bed...
    #1
    Hi, I have the 17" 2006 iMac 2.0 GHz Core 2 Duo. I know that the processor is 64 bit, but it won't use more than 3.25 GB which is the max that 32 bit will support ... why :confused:? It would be nice to upgrade the RAM to 4 GB from the 3 GB that is currently installed.
    The operating system is 10.6.8

    Any help is appreciated :)
     
  2. macthefork, Sep 1, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2013

    macthefork macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
  3. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    Remember, integrated graphics reserve memory automatically, which means, even though you might install 4GB, you won't have all 4GB at your usage.
     
  4. Habberkuk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Location:
    Under your bed...
    #4
    It will take 4 GBs, but only 3.25 will be addressed...

    It doesn't have an integrated GFX card, it has the ATI Radeon X1600 with 128 MB VRAM

    But thanks for both replies :)
     
  5. macthefork macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    #5
    How are you determining that your iMac is only able to access 3.25 GB of RAM?

    If you look at "About This Mac" it will show you the amount of accessible RAM (total usable RAM). If you look in Activity Monitor, under System Memory, it will show you the Free RAM not used by your OS or other currently running programs.

    Are you saying that under "About This Mac" is only showing 3.25 GB when 4 GB is installed?
     
  6. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #6
    Those models can only address 3.3GB of RAM due to a motherboard limitation. There's nothing you can do about that, unfortunately.
     
  7. benwiggy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #7
  8. Habberkuk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Location:
    Under your bed...
    #8
    Well... It seems like it won't be able to adress 4 GB...
    But anyway, thank you for helping :)
     

Share This Page