No next page...

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by stridemat, Jul 23, 2009.

  1. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Could't find it through search. (Not sure if it has been mentioned before, but I have been travelling for 5 weeks, so might of missed it)

    When your on a thread and you have read the page you now have to scroll back up to the top in order to click next. Where has the next page gone from the bottom of the page?
     
  2. stridemat thread starter Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    That screen shot was from page 5 of 6 on the 'Apple Legal Reportedly Hinders Reporter's Investigation of iPods Catching Fire' main article page.

    I scroll down to the bottom and there is no way of getting to the next page.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
  4. stridemat thread starter Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Is it happening to anyone apart from me on my crappy Dell laptop at work?
     
  5. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #6
    Not there for me. I thought it was random though or I was seeing things.
     
  6. stridemat thread starter Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Its on every page I visit. Its very annoying reading a thread and then having to scroll all the way to the top to go to the next.
     
  7. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #8
    What version of IE are you using?

    I'll add this to "the list" to be looked into.
     
  8. stridemat thread starter Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    IM using Internet Explorer 7. It has a version number of 7.0.5730.13 if that any help???

    O yeah and thanks!
     
  9. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #10
    IE 6.0. My work is pretty backwards (Fed. Gov't).
     
  10. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #11
    I'm not terribly familiar with IE but you might also make sure you don't have any plugins that are altering the page. It looks like the page is just being cut off after the ad. It might have something to do with the google toolbar and the settings.
     
  11. stridemat thread starter Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Just to let you know it only happens on my Dell laptop, now Im back on my mac it works fine.

    I blame Microsoft :p
     
  12. Eanair macrumors 6502

    Eanair

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    #13
    Just to add my two cents, when I'm on my HP at work using IE, I also can't see a "next page" link. I have to scroll to the top of the page to click the next page link that only appears at the top.

    When I'm back home on my Mac, it's fine.

    You're not alone.
     
  13. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #14
    I too get this while using Internet Explorer (although it's IE8 for me, not 6). It's a pain, but then again I only have to use Windows at work so, technically, I should be working instead of being on here :p
     
  14. jbernie macrumors 6502a

    jbernie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #15
    I see it occasionally as well, IE only user, 7 at work, 8 at home. Annoying but not end of the world :).
     
  15. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #16
    I see it maybe 2-3 times a week.

    Firefox, fully updated, 10.5.7.
     
  16. dmmcintyre3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #17
    Internet Exploder is the issue, Yet Again

    Never seen it on anything but IE
     
  17. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #18
    FWIW, I just tried this out in Internet Explorer, 8.0.6001.18702 in Win XP/SP3, and I don't seem to have this issue (nor do I have it in FF 3.5.1). It seems like (at least for the user with the screenshot), the entire row (iframe?) containing the bottom "reply" button and the page bar -- all this stuff (shot is from IE8):

    [​IMG]

    Are you using any kind of IE ad blocking or content filtering? Although, erm, I'm not sure why it would be blocked on the bottom and not the top.
     
  18. stridemat thread starter Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    I did have the google toolbar installed, I uninstalled it and it was exactly the same. It was still missing the next page links.

    I have just put firefox on my work PC and it works fine now, must be to do with IE somehow.
     
  19. mickbab macrumors 65816

    mickbab

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #20
    Hm that certainly is strange, never seen it on FF on Mac.

    Although I was just about to post saying 'OMG me too!' but then realised this is only a 1 page thread....doh. :p
     
  20. jbernie macrumors 6502a

    jbernie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #21
    hey guess what, I got it on this thread :)

    and yes it is possible because you do not see anything below the ad at the bottom and you should see posting rules, forum jump and other links. I had another thread load just fine at the same time. I saved the files if the mods want to see them.
     
  21. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #22
    Post a screen shot along with the version of IE, please. So basically, it seems that it happens on all versions of IE 6-8, but only intermittently? Maybe one of the ads is the culprit?
     
  22. stridemat thread starter Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    My money is on the ad, as it doesn't always do it on IE. It only seems to happen to me when I had the google/ royal mail ad as on my scree shot.
     
  23. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #24
    Did everybody skip my post that it happened on FIREFOX for me. :p
     
  24. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #25
    So, the fix is to remove all ads and for everyone to become a demi. Problem solved! :)
     

Share This Page