No One Lives Forever 2

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by MacBooksRock, Dec 11, 2007.

  1. MacBooksRock macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #1
    Hello,
    I'm experiencing the game shutting off after I finish a mission... Any suggestions?
     
  2. Sorkvild macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #2
    I too am having trouble with it, but only after upgrading to Leopard (but still on a PPC). It runs fine except all of the character models are broken and splintered. (Sorry, don't mean to steal your thread but this is prob better than making a new one.) Anyone know if MacPlay still supports this game?

    "Sluggish on higher end machines such as the Macbook Pro and Mac Pro. Unplayable on lower end Intel Macs."

    This is what the MacRumors game guide has to say about the game. Other than that I got no idea. Too bad, that game totally ruled and would love to play it again. :(
     
  3. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #3
    MacPlay hasn't supported any of their games for years now...they're pretty much out of the Mac games business, if they're even still around at all. Last I heard they were just selling casual games.

    --Eric
     
  4. kayw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #4
    Hi,

    I bought NOLF2 few years ago. I NEVER have it launches in my Mac(s) -- I installed the game onto my old G4 533Hz. The games couldn't launch even applied the patch. I contacted MacPlay. They just told me to run the patch. I told him I did. Then they said "they have no idea what is happening..."

    I bought a iMac 24" last month (with Leogand). I installed the game again. It got "broken and splintered characters" I played around all setting. No help.

    I got a reply from MacPlay today. Please see what they said:

    Hello,

    Thank you for contacting MacPlay Customer Support.

    We are aware that there are issues regarding many titles not functioning correctly in the Leopard operating system. Unfortunately at this time, we are unable to provide support on any of our MacPlay titles. In the meantime, we invite you to visit our support website at:
    http://www.macplay.com/support/
    This will direct you to a knowledge base of known issues regarding MacPlay games.
    We apologize for any inconvenience.

    Thank You
    MacPlay Customer Support


    Good luck.

    Kay
     
  5. Sorkvild macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #5
    E-mail them back and ask how long it will take to get support. :p "At this time" and "in the meantime" sounds like they will be able to at a later date.

    I wish they would just come out with it and say they can't help at all.
     
  6. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #6
  7. kayw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #7
    The 2006 patch is exact same as the one found in Macplay support page.

    I completely remove the game from the Mac. Then re-install it.

    Funny is the installer can't install from the CDs. I have to copy the installer onto desktop. Then installer launches.

    But... at the end... the game still not work (I have applied the "2006 patch"

    Kay
     
  8. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #8
    Hey Kay, minimum requirement of NOLF2 is G4, 700 MHz, thus it won't work with your 533 ghz.

    Are you running Tiger or Leopard on your iMac? I suspect that it will work with Tiger.
     
  9. kayw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #9
    I know my old G4 doesn't meet the requirement. But the point is the game launches on 10.2, 10.3, 10.4 and 10.5 successfully, but with "broken and splintered characters"

    I believe it doesn't relate to the G4 config.

    My iMac is a 2.4 GHz, 3G RAM, running Leopard.

    Kay
     
  10. kayw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #10
    See a great new... how can the game running on your MacBook with Leopard?

    Kay


     
  11. Sp3shl K macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #11
    i was able to get it to install and work so idk wats up. the only thing was when i went to exit it said that it quit unexpectedly but i was still able to play just fine. but its only been the first level so problems may arise...will keep u updated
     
  12. dementia13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    #12
    If you figure anything out, please advise. I was just getting around to playing this when I upgraded to Leopard (I keep wanting to say "Panther", all these cats are getting confusing) and it won't launch anymore. I get an error about "cannot create user-specific directory, see console log for details". Looking at the log, it looks like "/Users/(me)/Library" is the directory it's having trouble with. I'm guessing that it's having some trouble with the "Application Support/NOLF2" folder in there, but it's all read-write access, so I don't see a problem with the permissions, unless it's just something I don't know about, which it obviously is. I did a permissions repair on the disk, but no luck. I'd appreciate any help, my little girl keeps asking to see the game with the ninjas, and I hate to disappoint her.
     
  13. dementia13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    #13
    Solved

    I figured it out, and I'll post the answer because it could apply to a lot of other applications. This is after an install of Leopard which didn't go that well. I have two accounts: an administrator, and one for everyday use. The "User/Library" folder in my everyday account had the administrator as the owner, so the game didn't have any write privileges. I fixed that, and the game plays fine. I'm surprised that it's the only app that gave me trouble.
     
  14. Sorkvild macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #14
    Good to hear. You said it runs perfectly, are you not experiencing the graphic anomalies then?
     
  15. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #15
    I had a lot of problems with this game on the Mac. Lots of random freezes and such, and unfortunately one point I could never get past (the tornado) where it would just freeze up every time. I had to give up, which was too bad because it was a fun game to play.

    I've experienced so many serious glitches with PC/Mac-based games (one point in a Medal of Honor sequel where the frame rate goes under 1 fps comes to mind, and some bugs in ROTW) that I've kind of given up and am moving towards playing FPS games on consoles. I don't like the joypad controls as well but at least console games tend to be more stable (I suppose much narrower system variation helps).
     
  16. splendiferous macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #16
    The game works very well under the lowest settings, but whenever I get to a point where explosives blow up (i.e. power station, main records building, etc.) the game crashes. I've given up trying to escape Siberia, because the game keeps crashing the second I load up the outer courtyard.
     
  17. kayw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #17
    You make me jealous as the game works on your Mac.

    I say again... I bought the game brandnew over 3 years. The game doesn't work in my old G4 (550 MHz) and newer iMac (2.4GHz)... (the OS should be 10.3 ---> 10.5)

    Kay
     
  18. Alex72 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #18
    How about now?

    Did anybody else get the game to work perfectly? I finally upgraded to a machine powerful enough to play it (MDD1.25DP) but cannot get the game to boot at all. I'm running 10.3.9 with a Radeon 9800/128, if that helps. Are there any updates for the game? It's not THAT old, and it's still one of the biggest titles ever to come to the Mac, after all.

    Thanks!
     
  19. Sorkvild macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #19
    Actually yes! I forgot about this thread...

    I have an Intel C2D iMac with a Radeon 2600 and NOLF2 plays wonderfully (of course not as well as if it was a universal binary, but what can you do). Even got it widescreen with 1680x1050. ^_^

    That seems like a powerful enough mac to play it on. What is the problem exactly?

    There was one update to the game: http://mac.softpedia.com/get/Games/No-One-Lives-Forever-Update-2.shtml
     
  20. Alex72 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #20
    Hey! Thanks for responding -- I know it's always taking a big chance with dead or dormant threads...

    The problem is that, when I click on the icon for NOLF2, it briefly shows up on the dock, like it's about to run, spins the CD and then ... nothing. The icon disappears from the dock. The game doesn't load. It's 1.3 version 21, if that means anything.

    Someone once suggested to me that it could be a case of needing to run it under an older version of Quicktime, but I was hoping to find another workaround that didn't involve installing an older OS copy on a separate drive.

    Obviously, if you're playing it on am Intel iMac, you're not running an old version of Quicktime, either, so I wonder if there's another way...

    I'll look at that update link, too. Thanks.
     
  21. Alex72 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #21
    Rats. Update link seems to be dead. I think I have the latest version, though, no?
     
  22. Sorkvild macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #22
    Yeah, 1.3 is the latest version. The Quicktime problem happened under some version 6.x but I think you were still able to launch the game, it was the audio that was messed up.

    Check this thread out. http://forums.macnn.com/77/gaming/184042/nolf2-60hz-only/

    It mentions an issue with having to change the refresh rate and other probs with Panther users.
     
  23. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #23
    You might want to post full system specs, OS, RAM, Processor
    Plus the app version
     
  24. Sorkvild macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #24
    I have a 20'' mid-2007 iMac, 2.4 Ghz, 4 GB ram, 10.5.6. NOLF 2 is the latest, 1.3.

    It's not completely bug free... but none affect gameplay. Sometimes it takes a few tries to launch the game and there is always a quit unexpectedly error when I exit.
     
  25. Alex72 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #25
    And, for what it's worth, the system I *can't* get NOLF2 to play on is a "Mirrored Drive Door" G4 -- Dual 1.25GHz, 1.25GB RAM, 80/120/250GB HDs, ATI Radeon 9800 128MB video, OS X 10.3.9. NOLF2 Version is mentioned above: "1.3 Version 21."
     

Share This Page