Non-Developers Can Now Migrate MobileMe to iCloud

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by JasonHD, Aug 8, 2011.

  1. JasonHD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #1
    Apple now seems to be allowing non-developer accounts migrate their MobileMe to iCloud. I have just done mine and its all up and running perfectly on windows pc, iPhone 4 iOS 5 and iPad 2 iOS 5.

    How To:

    Sign into your MobileMe account at Me.com, then visit MobileMe.com/move and follow the instructions.

    Done!
     
  2. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #2
    For me, it still says a developer account is required.
     
  3. JasonHD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #3
    Yes it says that on the login page but just try to log in anyway and it lets you!
     
  4. wolfpackfan macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    #4
    I have no idea what you are talking about. I get the message and it says you have to be a developer. There is no login page. Plus if you do it and convert your account, what good does that do you if you can't access it without IOS5.
     
  5. JasonHD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #5
    Hi how can you have no idea ht I'm talking about? I have since found out that if you have registered your device to use the beta then it will let you even without a developer account. Thats what happened in my case. And I do have iOS 5 and making good use of it thank you.
     
  6. wackymacky macrumors 68000

    wackymacky

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    38°39′20″N 27°13′10″W
    #6
    Yes but iOS5 isn't yet technically released publicly is it?
     
  7. OneMike macrumors 603

    OneMike

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #7
    To non-devs no, but many have devs friends who added them to their accts or in some cases have paid. So released no, available yes.

    To OP. Once you migrate your account you're saying you can login to icloud.com?
     
  8. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #8
    If I log into my MM account it just takes me to FMi, not the ability to move my account :confused:
     
  9. wolfpackfan macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    #9
    Sorry, didn't mean anything by my post. How do you register your device if you are not a developer? And how do you get IOS 5, if you're not a developer? Just confused. I'd love to go ahead and migrate my account, but I've looked and looked and see no way to do it.
     
  10. thunderbunny macrumors 6502a

    thunderbunny

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    #10
    A developer can add a number of devices to their account and those devices can then have iOS 5 installed on it. Seems that recently Apple may be clamping down on this and disabling iOS5 on these devices as well as terminating the developer account used to set them up.
     
  11. arteggio macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #11
    I've also been having this problem since /move was announced to be working. Switched up browsers, deleted cache, went to the address logged in and not... Is there a certain trick to this that I'm missing?
     
  12. wolfpackfan macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    #12
    Oh, so that explains how OP was able to do it.
     
  13. JasonHD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #13
    yes, all of it works on icloud.com.
     
  14. ajvizzgamer101 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #14
    Why would you migrate if you don't have iOS 5 or Lion 10.7.2? Some of your information might not sync with each other.
     

Share This Page