Not so good expirience at apple store today.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by f4ff, Jun 23, 2011.

  1. f4ff macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    #1
    I have about 10 months old iphone 4, and form last 2 to 3 months I started having minor issues with home button (ie: it dosnt work sometimes when I press or opens multitasking bar even with single press), it was less frequent initially and I ignored it for long time, but since last few weeks it got worst so I decided to visit apple store.

    I had an appointment and I went there on time, the guy asked me the problem I clearly told him what the exact problem was. He said he will take the phone inside for a while and do the scaning, Whithin just one minute he came back and said I need to close the applications running in the background form multitasking bar and there will be no problem. I thought he didnt understand what I was saying so I told him again and to show him the problem I pressed home button for about 10 times with enough interval so that it dosnt open multitasking bar and in those 10 tries it didnt work twice. Even after seeing this, he told me that I need to KILL the running applications and it will be sorted.

    I tried for a while and than gave up cause he was either not getting it or didnt wanted to. I was very calm and polite and I never said anything that can piss him off. But in the end I really felt it was such a waste of time and more than that I left the store with bitter feelings.

    Honestly I am very happy with my iphone, and I can just live with this issue given there is no other option. This was the first time I have visited apple store and I wish it was better expirience.

    Thanks for reading my ranting, but I had to spill it out somewhere.
     
  2. HappyVirus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #2
    home button issue is pretty common.

    I would try and go in again (maybe different store)
     
  3. wxman2003 Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #3
    I would never leave a store unhappy without talking to the manager. If the sales clerk didn't help you properly, demand to speak to manager. If he/she won't help to your satisfaction, write down their names and notify corporate headquarters. That's assuming the customer was polite and truly had an issue, which it sounds like you did.
     
  4. f4ff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    #4

    yeah, I should have talked to the manager but at that point it didnt come to my mind.

    Actually I expected certain kind of service reading all the good things about apple stores and this one just came as a shock, I am not saying that I expected him to swap my phone without checking or making sure that I have a problem or not. But not listening to the problem and keep telling me to close the apps running in background will solve this issue was really unexpected.
     
  5. DiamondMac macrumors 68040

    DiamondMac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #5
    I have actually has this almost exact same situation happen to me.

    I was having an issue with my iPhone and the guy at the apple store told me to close out my apps background. We did and the issue went away about 2/10 times we tried it.

    The genius seemed satisfied that he had answered my question but considering my issue was still coming up AFTER this made me unhappy. I refused to leave until I had some answer for my error and eventually another person helped me out

    The bottom line is, be forceful with what you want. Don't let them push you out the door
     
  6. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #6
    apple support cann either be very good sßometimes or they can be rather useless. it's hit or miss whic h is pretty annoying
     
  7. jamied95 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #7
    D you try doing what he said? It could just be the OS that's getting it's knickers in a twist...
     
  8. VulchR macrumors 68020

    VulchR

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    Scotland
    #8
    I find all of this kinda ironic given that Jobs stated that having to manually force apps in the background to shutdown = fail.
     
  9. nabechu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #9
    I had the same problem with the home button. I went to the apple store last week, showed the genius the problem and got my phone swapped.
     
  10. dannyrob11 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #10
    I had exactly the same issue with the home button but it was intermittent. I booked in with the Apple store and it worked fine whilst there so they said there was nothing they could do.

    It kept happening so I booked back in last night and it worked fine again once I was in there so I couldn't show them the issue but they just replaced it for a brand new one despite never seeing the issue - warranty runs out today too so just got in there in the nick of time.

    They replaced my 3G a few years back due to a wifi fault with no hassle so maybe it just depends on who you get booked in with and what mood they are in.
     
  11. LapsangSouchong macrumors 65816

    LapsangSouchong

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Location:
    the burrows
    #11
    +1 Go back. Say you KNOW home button issues are common. And you KNOW your problem isn't running apps. Get a different "genius". If you still aren't offered real help, ask politely to speak to a manager.
     
  12. fat jez macrumors 68000

    fat jez

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #12
    go back and reboot the phone by holding down the power button until it switches off and then switch it back on. You should have no apps running. Then demonstrate the issue (ideally to a different Genius).
     
  13. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #13
    I just had this happen on both my iPad and iPhone, a restore fixed both devices.

    Home button can be software too.
     
  14. whitewater2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    #14
    I had the same problem with the home button, talked to the guy for one minute, he "ran tests" and swapped my phone immediately. They would not tell me what tests they ran, but he said it was hooked up to some machine and duplicated the tests.

    I didnt even make an appointment ahead of time, when in early in the morning and then waiting about 3 minutes and then talked to the specialist.

    Never hard the problem until 4.3.3, and in Apple forums people are complaining about it.
     
  15. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #15
    Unfortunately, it happens. While 95% of my visits to an Apple store have been great, there have been some pretty bad ones as well. Went in with my GF and her MBP that clearly had a problem with connecting external displays (I took pictures, could have easily hooked it up to a display in the store and showed them) and the guy basically said it was normal and I was worried about nothing. Went back a week later with her, different genius, and they took care of it with no questions asked.
     
  16. f4ff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    #16

    Yeah I did. As I said the problem was there from last 2 to 3 months and I had tried all the normal troubleshooting like hard reset, Restore and setup as new phone (I did it more than 3 times actually loosing all of my app data) but it didnt work. And I mentioned all of these in the comments section when I booked my appointment.
     
  17. f4ff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    #17
    I wish it was software issue on my phone as well, cause my phone has no other issues (not even signal drop when I am holding it "the wrong way") and I would love it if I can fix it without swaping but I have a very little hope now after trying everything.
     
  18. lamina macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #18
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Just go back another day and try again. My experience has been that if you're persistent, they will help you.
     
  19. Pheelyx macrumors regular

    Pheelyx

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Brookland, AR
    #19
    Had the same problem with the home button. I sent it in since I don't live anywhere near an Apple store. I got a replacement phone within 3 days.
     
  20. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #20
    I would take your recipe number and if possible the names of the gentlemen that helped and call up Apple or send them an Email. They have been nothing but helpful with me and in the rare occasion I had an issue with one of their employee's they really worked hard to compensate for it.
     
  21. tigress666 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Washington State
    #21
    Yeah, I find that complete BS. And I wish apple had done a better task manager (even being able to just drag the icon off the task bar to quit the task would be better than how they do it now). Cause, well, I'm sorry, the iphone doesn't do a great job of managing it itself (I find my iphone works a lot smoother if I keep an eye on open apps rather than just let my phone do it).

    And yeah, the button thing is an issue. I personally suspect the buttons wear out quickly and with iOS4 you really use the button a lot more especially if you are like me and insist on manually managing your tasks.

    And now, I'd kinda like a capacity type button vs. a click button cause it will probably last longer (though I don't want it to be part of the screen cause I still want some way to physically feel where it is rather than having to look at my iphone to use the home button).

    I'm lucky though, the genius I took my phone to took my word for it as even though my phone had gotten so bad I was sure I could get it to replicate the problem, it of course acted fine while there (though he noted that the button had a different feel to it than the new one he gave me. I had actually noticed that the button on my iphone felt different than the ones in the store).
     
  22. bbmiLo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    #22
    You are just unlucky to get a guy who did not want to be helpful.

    The home button issue is rather common. I had the same problem and it was a software issue, when I went to the Apple store in midtown Manhattan, the issue actually did not exist because I restored the phone to solve the problem. The guy simply started process to give me a new replacement right on the spot.
     
  23. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #23
    That doesn't work for me.
    Everything that was running is still running after a reboot.
     
  24. maclaptop macrumors 65816

    maclaptop

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    #24
    This is definitively a hardware issue, despite the many posts to the contrary. It's also one that is growing larger by the day. I think this is why Apple is telling it's people to give the customers the brush off whenever possible, since it costs Apple money.

    On the day I took mine in, they were very insistent that it was not a problem with the button even though I waited for it to degrade till it would hardly work.

    Demonstrating the issue to them was easy, the hard part was watching in amazement as they made excuse after excuse as they attempted to blame it on the way the phone was being used.

    Needless to say once it quits your done, and luckily just as I had demanded a third genius to speak to (the manager was hiding in the back) the button stopped working altogether.

    That was a very happy moment for me, and a very frustrating one for them.

    My new phone is just fine, for now.
     
  25. seble macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    #25
    Took mine in and had no problems getting it replaced, so I feel it for you man :( If I was you, go in and try again, maybe even print off various pages off these forums showing many people had the same problem and like me, got it replaced :)

    Good luck :)
     

Share This Page