Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tim2006

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 18, 2006
How many have ditched the desktop for a macbook pro or macbook . I did and am desktopless and did the same for my 60 yo mother got rid of her sony viao desktop for macbook. how many others?

WildCowboy

Administrator/Editor
Staff member
Jan 20, 2005
I ditched desktops altogether when I switched back to Mac in 2001. I wouldn't be averse to picking one up in the future, but for now, notebooks best fit my needs.

adrianblaine

macrumors 65816
Oct 12, 2006
Pasadena, CA
I ditched my desktop for a MBP. As a student I wouldn't consider anything else, but when I get out, I'd like to get something with a bigger screen (or just a bigger screen).

CEAbiscuit

macrumors 6502a
Jun 28, 2006
The Kitchen
3 laptops and no desktops since 2004. No reason to change. Too easy to hook up to my 23 inch monitor. Bluetooth also makes it easy to use a standard keyboard without hassle.

EvryDayImShufln

macrumors 65816
Sep 18, 2006
Use only a MBP with external keyboard and mouse (wired) for gaming and such. I love the freedom of being able to pick up my PC, not counting the fact that it's already about 10x faster than my old 40 pound desktop.

4np

macrumors 6502a
Feb 23, 2005
The Netherlands
I switched from a desktop pc to a PowerBook about 2 years ago. And now I want to ditch the desktop pc completely by getting a MacBook Pro (when the next revision is released) and run winxp through bootcamp on a 20GB partition (to play games). :)

Nermal

Staff member
Dec 7, 2002
New Zealand
I use a 2.33 GHz Core 2 MBP as my day-to-day computer. It's much more powerful than my old G4 tower, and I have a Pro Keyboard and wired mouse for it.

I also own a G3 tower, but I rarely use it.

xPismo

macrumors 6502a
Nov 21, 2005
California.
( I remember this thread before, but I cant seem to find it. )