Number 2 is going back :(

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TodVader, Nov 2, 2008.

1. TodVader macrumors 6502a

TodVader

Some of you might have read my thread about my second MBP being perfect. Well.... it's not. On the second day, I rent a movie and wanted to watch it on my MBP even if I had a huge HDTV in the living room. I wanted to test the screen quality while watching a movie.

As soon as the movie started, I realized there was columns of light coming up from the bottom of the screen every inch or so. One of them went halfway up the screen and the other ones were about an inch long or so. I saw someone with the same problem somewhere in the forums.

I called and they told me it was the LCD leaking light and it was a defect.

I told them I was very disappointed with their product and they offered me a free wireless mighty mouse.

So this is going back but at least I get something out of it.

This is so disappointing, I just want to get some work done! I'm a web designer and the 3-4 hours or so it took me to get it setup (2 times) is time that I could have been working.

Now, I gotta get back to work on my iBook (for the second time).

This sucks. The next one better be perfect or I'm asking for a refund and making a hackintosh (Which I'm totally against) but this is getting ridiculous.

BTW, the nearest Apple store is 11 hours away and I have to wait a full week for a replacement to come to me (2 Days to ship it to them and 3 to get it back with priority mail).

/rant

2. TodVader thread starter macrumors 6502a

TodVader

I just found the picture of the other guy having that problem. Mine is similar but one of the leaks goes up to halfway up the screen. Am I being picky? Would you have accepted it? Me and my wife both say it's unacceptable.

Attached Files:

3. Jeff Barlow macrumors member

No. Send it back and write Apple to express your frustration.

And having owned two of them, the Mighty Mouse is hardly an acceptable bonus.