nVidia 320m VS nVidia 9400m

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by seong, Apr 14, 2010.

  1. seong macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #1
    So, I bought myself new Macbook Pro exactly 21 days ago, and was disappointed to find out that they refreshed it today.
    However, I am heading to Apple Store Friday afternoon to find out what I can do to get that refreshed one. (I waited 7 month, until the last day of the presentation)
    So, to people with 320m graphics, are there any big difference? Does the battery lasts longer?
     
  2. greg400 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    #3
    Assuming you're talking about the base 13" compared to the 2009 base 13", the battery lasts 3 hours longer than before, the processor got a slight bump, it got 2 more GB's of RAM, 160 GB more hard drive space, and a better GPU.

    There aren't any benchmarks out yet for the 320m, but it is better than the 9400m: http://www.apple.com/macbookpro/performance.html

    Scroll down to the "13-inch MacBook Pro Graphics Performance" chart.
     
  3. apdg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #4
    I know this isn't exactly a benchmark but I thought it'd be worth sharing.

    I took my pre-unibody 2.5ghz MBP in to an apple store today, put it in target mode, plugged it in to a 2.66 13" MacBook "Pro" display machine then started up Warcraft. I wasn't expecting much so I set all the video settings to about the middle but found that as I flew in to a major city the frame rate was 65+ fps. So I turned everything all the way up, switched on all the options, restarted the game and ran around the busiest area I could find. At worst it got as low as 12fps but typically was around 16-18 fps in the busiest parts of the city and 30-65 in less populated areas.

    The i5 and i7 machines will beat it for sure but it's far far better than I expected, at least at this.
     
  4. zeemeerman2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    #5
    So in game terms, is that busiest area (I play Warcraft as well) Dalaran?
    And the less populated areas, is it in Northrend (Icecrown, ...) or Eastern Kingdoms/Kalimdor?

    Since the difference between Northrend and the old kingdoms are huge at my laptop.


    If you want to compare to an older laptop (my MacBook: 2.1 GHz, Intel x3100, 2 GB); just to know that difference:
    - Busiest area in the game (Dalaran): between 1 and 8 fps (say 1-3 fps if all objects and players are "loading", then 5-8 fps)
    - Less busy area, still many objects (Icecrown, Zul'Drak): between 10 and 17 fps
    - Plain landscape, little objects (Westfall): between 25 and 35 fps

    I have all settings at minimum, except for View Distance (3rd tick from left) and Enviroment Detail (to see the objects from further away) (middle).
     
  5. apdg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #6
    Ah yes, I actually meant more and less busy parts of the city (the city indeed being Dalaran). All those numbers were just in Dalaran. I didn't want to hang around too long for more testing since it looked pretty shady having a firewire cable hooked up to my computer from theirs.

    Jumping around in front of the inn where a lot of players congregate was where frame rate was in that 16-18 range. But in the tunnels leading to the underbelly, where it didn't have to draw a lot of other characters, it would get up around 65.
     
  6. l008com macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    #7
    If the 320m was custom made for Apple, does that mean there are no windows drivers for it yet? I boot my 2009 13" MBP into Win7 to play San Andreas. Graphics are pretty good but it could use a little boost in frame rate. I probably won't get a new machine until fall though.
     
  7. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #8
    Apple probably was so kind to make drivers for Windows, otherwise how could you use Boot Camp?
     
  8. grahamnp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #9
    NVidia's driver releases generally cover a range of products, not specific models. Wouldn't the usual Laptopvideo2go stuff work with the 320m as well?
     
  9. trondah macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #10
    Did you boot the 2.66 MBP from your target disk? Or did you just run Warcraft off it?
     
  10. ssn637 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #11
    Here are my 3D Mark 06 scores for both the mid-2009 2.53 GHz MBP 13" and 2010 2.66 GHz models in Windows 7 x64 Boot Camp, both overclocked:
     

    Attached Files:

  11. trondah macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #12
    How come you have lower CPU score with the 2.66?
     
  12. wilycoder macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #13
    His 9400m machine did the test with CPU at 2850Mhz and the 320m machine was running the CPU at 2655Mhz...
     
  13. ssn637 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #14
    Right on. With NVidia System Tools V6.06 I could raise the CPU FSB to 300 MHz on the mid-2009 model, but haven't found a way to do so on the MCP 89 chipset. If anyone has a clue I'd be grateful...
     
  14. trondah macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #15
    Oh, didn't notice that. Nice oc :) It's a shame there is no utilities to do that on OSX.
     
  15. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #16
    Simple.

    The 9400M has 16 shaders
    The 320M has 32 shaders... twice as much

    The 320M will win, by far.
     
  16. Jason Beck macrumors 68000

    Jason Beck

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Location:
    Cedar City, Utah
    #17
    hah! +1
     
  17. joaodrp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #18
    Hi,

    Has someone play Pro Evolution Soccer 2010 in the new MBP13 2010?

    How does it works? Can it run it in maximum settings?
     

Share This Page