O2 Users in the UK

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Westyfield2, May 21, 2010.

  1. Westyfield2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Bath, UK.
    #1
    'Evening

    I've got a 64GB iPad 3G and on Monday I cut up an O2 Pay-as-you-Go SIM to put in it. It's the one where if you topup by £10 a month you get 300 texts and "unlimited" internet. It's been working perfectly, well apart from O2's rubbish 3G coverage and slow speeds - but on a par with my iPhone 3GS.

    Anyways, I've just plugged it into iTunes and got this:

    [​IMG]

    Learn more takes me to http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1970?viewlocale=en_US

    Anyone else had this?


    On my iPad I just went to Settings > Cellular Data > APN Settings, and all of APN, Username & Password are blank currently.


    So yeah, any ideas? Hope it's not O2 about to block my SIM!
     
  2. emkwan macrumors regular

    emkwan

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #2
    Hmm interesting. Don't think so. It may be a specific update to o2 settings and features. Don't think apple would block the device now.

    Let us know how you get on btw. The Internet speeds in general in the UK SUCK. I was I. The middle east last year and was amazed at speeds everywhere I went.

    Btw fellow iPad Uk owner here :) Leicester boy.
     
  3. naujoks macrumors 6502

    naujoks

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    Don't diss O2's network too much.
    It was really bad last year, but they must have invested a lot in upgrading the system. Previously even (or particularly?) in central London 3G data was crawling along and SMSs were delivered hours later, but it's working quite smoothly now. It's become very noticeably better. I don't think any other network provider will be much better.
     
  4. -Ryan- macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #4
    I actually think their network is pretty good, except for the 3G speeds and coverage. They definitely exaggerate the 3G coverage, as even if it's a 3G signal, they shouldn't be allowed to advertise it as such if it's only 2.5G speeds...
     
  5. sparkie1984 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #5
    to be fair, im not a massive fan of o2, but that said, i frequently get a signal where orange dont..

    id consider Vodafone if they did iphone on payg

    o2 have got better, but yesterday i was having horrendous problems with them, was left with no signal, or data was dropping out all the time,

    their 3g isnt the best, ive frequently had full 3g signal and its performance is poor
     
  6. naujoks macrumors 6502

    naujoks

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    Also, the 15 pounds SIMplicity iPhone contract (300 mins, unlimited txt & internet) I pay for 12 months is pretty amazing. How cheap would anyone want his phone bill to be, if you're actually using your phone! Compare this to the rest of Europe, in particular Germany. They pay 80 pounds for the same thing!
    So let's rejoice and be glad we're in the UK, where comms are working pretty well at a great price!
     
  7. sparkie1984 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #7
    edit: just realised thats 12 months is it? i.e. not a rolling contract?

    shame as i pay £15a month on payg
     
  8. dipper macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    I had this with my vodafone payg mobile broadband account as well. I accepted it etc and it doesn't seem to do any harm. Connection still works ok. That said just ordered an O2 micro-sim from the O2 website. Thought I would try out all three providers to see which is best for me.
     
  9. Blorzoga macrumors 68030

    Blorzoga

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    #9
    So is it safe to say that us-purchased ipads will work abroad with a different (from AT&T) miniSIM?
     
  10. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #10
    ^ yes.

    I have 64gb 3G in Ireland, imported from US.

    Three works without issue
    O2 works without issue

    Haven't tried Vodafone but i think it's a safe bet too.
     
  11. Westyfield2 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Bath, UK.
    #11
    Uh oh

    I haven't done this carrier settings update (and the APN is still all blank) but last night..

    "Could not activate cellular data network"

    "Cannot Open Page Safari cannot open the page because it is not connected to the Internet."

    It had a full O2 3G signal, as did my iPhone 3GS which was working fine.

    Hopefully either the carrier settings update being needed (I'll update it when I sync it tonight) or O2 blocking my SIM (without telling me!).... rather than something being wrong with my iPad itself....
     
  12. AlecEdworthy macrumors 6502

    AlecEdworthy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    #12
    Likely to be due to the data service outage that O2 experienced last night. Fixed by 01:00 I believe,

    http://twitter.com/O2/status/14679750974

    Alec
     
  13. Westyfield2 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Bath, UK.
    #13
    Cheers, it's working fine tonight. And I still haven't done the iTunes update...

    Odd how last night my iPhone 3GS (iPhone 3G O2 Contract) was working perfectly but my iPad 3G (O2 Pay-as-you-Go SIM) wouldn't work :confused:...
     
  14. Westyfield2 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Bath, UK.
    #14
    Don't do the update

    Accepted this tonight and it changed my APN to idata.o2.co.uk and then came up about buying data etc. I've now removed the APN settings and its back working.
     
  15. spinstorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #15
    What are the settings that work? I want to cut up my own data sim for o2.

    Incidentky where I live O2 has the best signals and performance.

    Orange hardly ever works due to rubbish signal. Vodafone can't hold a 3G connection. 3 is like orange - useless and I can't comment on TMobile but o2 is best option!
     
  16. Planky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    The Sunny Isle of Wight
    #16
    LOL, O2 are so wonderful that I STILL do not have EDGE here let alone 3G!

    Stuck on GPRS and no matter how often I politely ask about the possibility of 3G being delivered in my area I just get fobbed off. :mad::mad:

    A quick look at the OFCOM 3G coverage maps are enlightening.
     
  17. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #17
    Here for me it's Three with best 3G overall, followed by o2. Vodafone are useless, switched my iphone from o2 to vodafone and now rarely get 3G on my iphone at all.

    I'm in south west rural Ireland.

    It's all just a case of go for whichever provider offers best coverage in the areas where you intend to be and utilise your 3G iPad.
     
  18. Westyfield2 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Bath, UK.
    #18
    Settings > Cellular Data > APN Settings, and all of APN, Username & Password are all blank currently.

    SIM is a chopped up fullsize O2 SIM, on the O2 Text & Web Pay-As-You-Go tariff, where if you topup by £10 a month you get "300 free UK texts and unlimited internet". Works fine :).
     
  19. SOLLERBOY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    I'm just near manchester airport and all networks have received a major overhaul over the past year. O2 and Vodafone have good 3g coverage.
     

Share This Page