Obsessive workaholism / work-life balance

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by 0002378, Dec 27, 2017.

1. 0002378, Dec 27, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2018

0002378 Suspended

I wanted to describe, briefly, my experience working in the tech field, including what went wrong, and want to see if anyone else here has experienced or observed anything similar. If so, please do share your opinions/experiences.

P.S. I'm not asking for advice (I have it all figured out). I just wanna hear about what you have experienced.

After studying Computer Science, I worked as a Software Engineer for roughly 8 years. Loved the work, love what computers can do (although not so much what people are making them do). Didn't so much like the tech-company culture of workaholism and big egos.

I'm not the kind of guy who likes to go around showing people I'm right about something ... apart from it screaming insecurity, I find that to be a waste of time. On the job, I encountered a lot of folks who seem to derive a lot of enjoyment out of showing others how smart/right they are. Furthermore, they liked to impose their workaholic ways on those who aren't workaholics - like me. I felt this constant pressure to work overtime and not take care of my health. I steadfastly refused.

I'm also not the kind of guy who wants to spend every second of every day with a machine. I value human interaction, and I value gaps in the stream of pointless and largely insane human activity. I like space to breathe ... space to be.

As a programmer, I'd say I'm above average, with a lot of potential, but I always valued work-life balance as I have a ton of hobbies that I like to devote time to. So, while I found a lot of programmers spending a lot of their spare time programming personal projects and acquiring more knowledge, I spent that time at the gym or out hiking or wine tasting with friends.