OCZ 120G SATA II Vertex....WOW

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by covrc, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. covrc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #1
    Just installed and cloned Boot Drive to my new SSD.
    Incredibly fast launching programs.
    I have all my applications on this, is that what should be on there?
    Also have my iTunes library (50GB) should I move that off the SSD?

    Follow-up questions.

    Will this plan work...

    Erase my WD 640 Caviar Blue which is my former Boot Drive in Bay #1.

    Partition it into two drives
    Partition#1 use as my Photoshop and Lightroom scratch discs.
    Partition#2 Clone the Boot Drive back to this drive as a back up?


    Or does the Back-up Boot Drive need to be on an external drive?

    I have the two Caviar Blacks 2TB in Bays #3 and 4.
    If I added a third Caviar Black 2TB in Bay #2 (replacing my Samsung 1TB)
    Can I use the 2 of the Blacks in a RAID and use the 3rd as Time Machine backup for the other two?
     
  2. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #2
    My suggestion: Put your former boot drive in a safe place and start fresh with a couple of fast 7200 drives in a RAID 0 for your data.
     
  3. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #3
    good idea and can be low cost
     
  4. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    After my last drive crash, I decided to pick up a couple of these… I haven't been this excited about upgrades since… getting a Mac Pro. :p

    As for your configuration, I would move your iTunes library off the SSD.
     
  5. sparkie1984 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #5
    Do you mind me asking what you used to clone it over? As I'm hopefully going to be doing my SSD tonight!
     
  6. Honumaui macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #6
    for cloning super duper or carbon copy cloner ?

    I use super duper but have gone back and forth over the years ?
     
  7. covrc thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #7
    Hard Drive Setup

    I used Carbon Copy Cloner, very simple to use.

    Thanks for the feedback. So much to learn.:eek:

    Can someone give me a clearer direction to follow regarding my hard drives?


    I have all my applications on the SSD, is that what should be on there?

    Follow-up questions.

    johnnymg My suggestion: Put your former boot drive in a safe place and start fresh with a couple of fast 7200 drives in a RAID 0 for your data.
    Do you mean remove it and store it?

    Does the Back-up Boot Drive need to be on an external drive?
    Should I do a backup boot on my Seagate FW800 or Elements 2.0?

    I use Photoshop and Lightroom more than any other application, will this setup work well for that. BTW...I have 12GB RAM kit coming.

    Bay #1 Samsung f3 Spinpoint 1TB (scratch disc for LR and PS)
    Bay #2 Caviar Black 2TB (RAID 0)
    Bay #3 Caviar Black 2TB (RAID 0)
    Bay #4 Time Machine using one of the following
    Samsung Spinpoint F4 2TB Serial ATA
    Hitachi Deskstar 2TB Serial ATA
    Western Digital Caviar GP 2TB Serial ATA

    Will Time Machine take the data that is spread across Bays #2 and 3 and store it on Bay #4?

    Oh...and If I do set up a RAID 0 what happens with all the 'old' data I already have stored on my hard drive? Does is get RAIDified somehow and stored between the two RAID 0 hard drives?

    Thanks.
     
  8. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #8
    Yes: store your original drive!
    Your drive configs look excellent but you should consider moving one copy of stored data OFF the machine and moved to another location. :p

    cheers
    JohnG
     
  9. Honumaui macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #9
    depending on what else you are using that F3 for ?

    I say partition it into 3 partitions
    first say 100-200 gigs make your scratch disc ? the second make the size of your boot and clone your boot nightly programs like Super Duper can be scheduled to do this so once setup its something you dont have to worry about ?
    the rest of the space ? you can use for some kinda backup ? but dont use it as anything you ever write to when working ?

    the reason I like others like clone for boot is if your boot goes down :) you can still keep working etc..

    and ditto the others about off line storage BU
     

Share This Page