OCZ Agility 3 SSD not found?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by CrAkD, Aug 20, 2011.

  1. CrAkD macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    Hey guys not sure where to put this. Im running a hackintosh on a i7 920 with a gigabyte board. No matter what Sata port i plug my new agility 3 SSD into its not found in OSX. I know this SSD has Sata III but my board doesnt but I assumed it would still work just use the slower SATA II.

    The Green light on the SSD lights up but it doesnt show up in Snow Leopard or Disk Utility. is there anything I have to install to make it run on Sata II?
     
  2. CrAkD thread starter macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    I exchanged it for the Samsung and now its working perfect. I should have known better from the 2 DOA PSU's I got from OCZ when I built this computer to stay away from them. The Samsung isnt SATA 3 but neither is my mobo so I guess it doesnt matter.
     
  3. handheldgames macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #3
    Sounds like you narrowed down your Sandforce issue. Fellow samsung owner here, these drives ROCK!
     
  4. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #4
    No problems with my OWC's. At all. OZC seems to have major QC issues. I would not bet on all SF drives to be faulty.
     
  5. handheldgames macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #5
    I wish ya the best luck over the long haul. I'd rather not gamble with the next generation of death-stars. :p
     
  6. CrAkD thread starter macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    yeah this is my first SSD. :eek: I should of done this years ago. Ive been building computers for the past like 10 years and this is singlehandedly the most noticeable computer upgrade ive ever done.
     
  7. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #7
    @handheldgames:

    That's comforting. Thanks.
    No gamble at all really. I have other HDD's and SSD's laying around and keep meticulous backups and have a 5 year warranty on the OWC kits. 15-20 min to re-image is nothing. A smoke break maybe. I am really hoping this anti SF thing is more FUD than anything else or more OZC's fault. Doesn't stop SF-2000 from being disturbingly fast. That Samsung looks really nice for 3Gb as well. Too bad Apple does not ship anything close to that with their rebranded stuff.
     
  8. beaker7 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    #8
    Didn't know hackintoshers were worried about reliability. Interesting.
     
  9. CrAkD thread starter macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
    Everyone said "don't run a hackintosh it's unreliable blah blah blah" I've been running it for 2 years in my studio and it runs protools errorless much different then the same machine on windows where I'd get new errors everyday. Don't get me wrong I have a chunk of change put aside for when the new Mac pros get released but my hackintosh has served me very well.
     

Share This Page