OCZ Vertex 2 in a 15" i7 benchmarks

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bugout, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. bugout macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    is everything!
    #1
    Just got an OCZ vetex 2 installed in my 15" i7 MBP. It's installed in an optibay from newmodeus and I have the WD 1TB drive in the original HD location.

    A note for anyone planning on doing this. If you want bootcamp, install the SSD in the original HD location first. I could not get windows to load using the superdrive via USB. I put the superdrive back in its original location and it worked fine. Interesting note: it benches faster in OS X then windows.

    First the original 500GB HD.
    [​IMG]

    Now the Vertex 2 Xbench
    [​IMG]

    Vertex 2 quickbench
    [​IMG]

    The WD 1TB:
    [​IMG]

    Win 7 64 Bootcamp benches:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. yashioba macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    #3
    Does hibernation work for you having the SSD installed in the optibay or did you have to disable this feature?

    AFAIK, hibernation was not able to function correctly for the 2009 MBPs with the boot drive in the optibay, so I am interested if anything changed with the new MBPs.
     
  3. emigrant macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    New York-Bklyn
  4. barefeats macrumors 65816

    barefeats

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2000
    #5
    I'd like to see the QuickBench Extended 20MB-100MB Test results in 5 cycles. (Are you running version 4.04? It should give an average in numeric view.)
     
  5. bugout thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    is everything!
    #6
    Not sure.. I haven't reached the point of having it hibernate yet.
     
  6. bugout thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    is everything!
    #7
    Ask and ye shall receive!

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Hitrate macrumors 6502

    Hitrate

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1 like Mac OS X; da-dk) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Mobile/7C144)

    Cool.. But that 1tb drive is only 5200rpm right? What made u choose this configuration? I want the 7200rpm 500gb and ssd combo when the price drops a bit, but thats because I'd think those 1tb drives would be too slow for my live audio needs (low latency, big 32bit wav sample libraries etc)
     
  8. bugout thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    is everything!
    #9
    You'll probably be better off with the 500/7200 option. I don't have a need for that speed for data storage.
     
  9. barefeats macrumors 65816

    barefeats

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2000
    #10
    Thanks, Bugout, for the QuickBench Extended results. That's as good as or better than any SSDs I've tested recently:
    http://barefeats.com/mbpp19.html

    And the Vertex 2 has the SandForce controller and firmware with enterprise-level features that keep it running fast no matter how heavy the usage.

    I refer all you and others to the testing by Lloyd Chambers where he beats on the SSD to see if it slows down. The OWC (based on the same SandForce chip as the Vertex 2) does not suffer slowdown. The Crucial M226 and C300 both have serious issues after heavy use:
    http://macperformanceguide.com/SSD-RealWorld.html

    A good review of the Vertex 2 versus other SSDs was posted on the 28th:
    http://anandtech.com/show/3681/oczs-vertex-2-special-sauce-sf1200-reviewed/1
     
  10. bugout thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    is everything!
    #11
    The scary part...

    This single OCZ Vertex 2, is FASTER in writes then my 2 Intel X25-M G2 160's in RAID on my Mac pro!!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  11. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #12
    Can you reliably sleep your Mac with the Vertex 2? Does Boot Camp work? Does their Mac support still consist of "it's Apple's fault, go talk to them"?

    These were issues I had with an OCZ Vertex drive from last year. It also died on me after 5 months. Took a month to get my money back from them.

    Very happy intel G2 user ever since.

    I'm not trying to hate on the OCZ drive, but it was just so unreliable for me that it was laughable. I felt that they used us as beta testers basically. The intel drive definitely has much lower sequential write speeds but that isn't a big deal for my usage. And it's reliability has been terrific. Has run 24/7 without a hiccup since I installed it over 7 months ago.

    I'd be happy to know that they've got their act together for when I look at SSDs in the future. Although I probably won't stray from intel. Can't wait to see what they've got up their sleeve for the G3 drives :)
     
  12. bugout thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    is everything!
    #13
    I had the same issues with the vertex 1 in my previous MBP. Sleep issues, bootcamp issues and I had 2 die on me. I switched to an intel after that.

    As you can see above, I benched it in windows using boot camp. No issues at all with boot camp or sleep. The only problem is boot camp puts the drive in IDE mode and you don't get full performance. There's no way to turn AHCI mode on.
     
  13. runebinder macrumors 6502a

    runebinder

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #14
    Thanks for the bench marks OP, ordered the 120GB Vertex 2E today and getting it Saturday and can't wait for my first experience of a computer with a SSD drive.

    Reading your benchmarks makes me even more excited :D
     
  14. stylinexpat macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #15
    I am running 2 of the Vertex 2 SSD's in my MBP and really like it so far. Freakin fast but the only drawback I found was the battery life running raid got worse. I figure about 20% worse running raid with the 2 Vertex SSD's. What was odd was that it got better battery times with 1 Vertex 2 SSD but after I installed the second one it got worse.
     
  15. runebinder macrumors 6502a

    runebinder

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #16
    Well mines now installed, just finishing off getting it the way I want, must say I can see why people rave about them, can't believe how much more responsive it is now opening programs and files, boot times have been cut by at least half.

    Did the geeky thing and timed boot, plus some app opening times with a stop watch on the old drive, plan to do the same with this once it's settled in. I'll post them once I've done that.

    Anyone else notice an increase in temperatures? Would have thought it'd been cooler.
     
  16. stylinexpat macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #17
    And I thought it was just me that noticed an increase in temperature:( If you want to see temperatures rise just go to a website like gsmarena and just lit sit there at idle for a few minutes:rolleyes: Before you know it those fans will be spinning.:eek:
     
  17. rckstwrz macrumors member

    rckstwrz

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    #18
    Thanks for posting all these results, Bugout. I'm thinking of doing a similar thing, replacing the SuperDrive with an SSD + Optibay and then making it the bootdrive. I'll leave the original HDD in place, unless anyone sees an advantage to having it be in the Opitbay.

    I don't think this was answered, so I'll ask it again. If my SSD + Optibay is the bootdrive, will I be able to eject and hibernate the HDD? Battery life is pretty important to me.
     
  18. milan03 macrumors 6502

    milan03

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
    #19
    See that's why I'm running OWC 240GB for boot and apps and 512GB Apple SSD for storage in a NON raid setup. This way I KNOW i'll always have the best customer service and they'll never tell me "it's apple's fault call them".
    The performance that you gained are hard to justify when your battery get's drained faster, and you still have to lug external HDD for projects, raw files, samples etc.
     
  19. bugout thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    is everything!
    #20
    You have to have your boot drive in the normal HD bay in order for hibernate to work. Put the SSD in the HD bay and the apple HD in the optibay and you'll be good to go.
     
  20. rckstwrz macrumors member

    rckstwrz

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    #21
    Fantastic. Thanks for responding!
     
  21. Sneakz macrumors 65816

    Sneakz

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #22
    So I switched today from my X25-M G2 to a Vertex 2 Extended and hibernate doesn't work. Has the Vertex 2 always been like that? I do have my Vertex 2 in the normal HDD bay. I don't use a HDD caddy and still have my SuperDrive.
     
  22. rckstwrz macrumors member

    rckstwrz

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    #23
    I did it!

    OK, so I installed a OCZ Vertex 2 in my MacBook Pro's main hard drive bay, and then cloned over a copy of Snow Leopard to it, however I can't get the Mac to boot to this drive.

    It will boot from other drives (either external, or the original hard drive which now sits in an OptiBay) and I can read/write to the Vertex... just not boot from it.

    Did anyone else run into this? Any tips? Thanks!

    ~Rick
     
  23. rckstwrz macrumors member

    rckstwrz

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    #24
    The solution:

    In case anyone else stumbles upon the same issue, here's the fix. A friend of mine suggested I do a SMC reset, and that did the trick. Here's Apple's kbase article about it: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1411

    UPDATE: Let me take that back. The actual solution was to have 10.6.4 cloned over the the SSD. Apparently, the latest generation MBPro's need 10.6.4 in order to boot. The Install DVD I was using was only 10.6.3.
     
  24. levifig macrumors member

    levifig

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #25
    WOW I just got my Vertex 2 last Friday and while the whole system feels TONS snappier, I noticed the benchmarks weren't even close to "standard" though…

    Here's mine:
    [​IMG]


    Any ideas? Should I return the drive? What should I do? :\
     

Share This Page