Odd Formatting on Forums Page & Unable To Enter Text To Post

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by Scepticalscribe, Dec 22, 2015.

  1. Scepticalscribe Contributor

    Scepticalscribe

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    The Far Horizon
    #1
    Just a heads up on something odd that has just happened.

    While the front page remained fine, the main forums page developed a very strange appearance - very elongated, and stretched out, with stretched headings for sub-fora, and it became impossible to enter text in order to make a post or reply to a post that had already been made.

    Not sure if this is in any way linked to the new system, or the upgrades that have been mentioned by @arn.

    I notified the hardworking @maflynn as I spotted that he - poor soul - was online by reporting post of my own that had somehow been posted without having been able to enter any text.

    Anyway, the first step to attempt to address this sort of problem is always to turn the computer off, rather than put it into sleep mode (which is where it usually lives) and then try to see if MR (and indeed other sites) can be accessed after switching the thing back on again. For now, that appeared to have worked.
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    I didn't notice any issues, did you try on a different device, i.e., iOS vs. OS X?
     
  3. Scepticalscribe thread starter Contributor

    Scepticalscribe

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    The Far Horizon
    #3
    Many thanks for responding to my earlier 'Report', (of my own post which I was unable to enter any text in) as I was unable to even send a PM, and thus, sending a report seemed the only way that might flag this issue.

    On the issue of connectivity, I only have two MBAs, and possess nothing else in the Apple ecosystem that might connect with the world. (Naturally, this discussion does not apply to the several iPod classics I have, as they only connect with the MBA when it is time to update their music).

    For now, the issue seems to have been partially solved in that I switched off the computer and switched it back on again, and that seems to have worked.
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Another Mod handled your report, so alas, I appreciate the thanks, but it is misdirected :)
     
  5. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    One possible explanation is that one or more stylesheets were updated, so people with cached copies of the previous versions had a mismatch between the page layout and its styles, until the cache was flushed or updated.
     
  6. Scepticalscribe thread starter Contributor

    Scepticalscribe

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    The Far Horizon
    #6
    No problem; I had sent it to you, so felt that thanks were due to you as you were the first point of contact.

    Actuallly, I think you may have nailed it, @Doctor Q. Turning the computer off and back on seems to have dealt with the cache issue.
     
  7. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #7
    strange. we are definitely moving things around, so things could be breaking. just let keep us updated if something remains broken
     

Share This Page