official Mojave Mac Pro Metal GPU card list finally

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by LightBulbFun, Jun 25, 2018.

  1. meng8123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #201
    Thank you again. I got this working yesterday by downloading High Sierra and updated the firmware using my old Radeon HD 5870 that came with the mac pro.
    everything worked so well with RX 580 and the Mojave seems very stable as a beta.
     
  2. vailr macrumors regular

    vailr

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #202
  3. tsialex macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #203
    MojaveDP3_AboutthisMac.png

    Mojave DP3 now installs normally with HD7870, no need to use startosinstall to bypass the installer.

    Seems that was a bug. On the release notes:

    Btw, the BootROM on the Firmware folder (/Applications/Install\ macOS\ Mojave\ Beta.app/Contents/Resources/Firmware) still is MP51_0085_00B_LOCKED.fd.
     
  4. mrhansolo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    #204
    Something I am pondering is updating my dual 27" 1440 monitors do dual 27" 4K in the next couple of months. In preparation for the upgrade I purchased a 7950 back in April. At the time, it seemed like the best solution with its dual bios switch. I have not flashed either bios and currently boot into High Sierra without a boot screen.

    Something I am curious about is my unflashed card still going to work with 4K under Mojave like it does under High Sierra? I am hopeful that a firmware or EFI update will come out that will open Mac pros up for a 4K boot screen. However, I just want some more knowledge before I sink money into 4K screens that may end up being a waste.
     
  5. MoerBoer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    #205
    I would assume Apple should ( must? ) release a new firmware update for the cMP.

    My reasoning behind this is even if you have a Non Apple Metal enabled GFX card, you will never be able to run FileVault due to not being able to see the boot screen?

    Especially since they recommend RX560's and RX580's which won't have boot screens.
     
  6. joebclash macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    #206
    Is your HD7870 flashed? I'm thinking about buying a used HD7870 on ebay...
     
  7. Susurs macrumors 6502a

    Susurs

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #207
  8. JimmyjamesEU macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    #208
    Any news on gpu encode/decode with beta 3? Enquiring minds want to know!
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #209
    Decoding is definitely working. I just downloaded this HEVC testing video

    http://4kmedia.org/sony-camping-in-nature-4k-demo/

    And play it in QuickTime Player.

    It's extremely smooth. And only still 96% idle but GPU working hard.
    Screenshot 2018-07-05 at 5.31.28 AM.png
    I will test the encoding soon and report back.
     
  10. tsialex, Jul 4, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2018

    tsialex macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #210
    Yep, used the tutorial on Netkas.

    If you wanna play safe, buy the most similar to the reference card, not smaller/bigger with totally different heatsink/cooler/output ports. Check the confirmed flashable ones before buying and never buy XFX cards to use on Mac Pros. XFX usually change a lot from the reference card, sometimes you just lose output ports, but some models just don't work at all.

    Pay attention to the revision of the card. Sometimes, the revision 1 and 2 are compatible, but the v3 isn't (XFX changed so much on the HD5770 v3 that the card stopped working on Macs, Gigabyte R9-280x v2 too)
     
  11. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #211
    H.264 Faster Encode (hardware encode) option also available now
    Screenshot 2018-07-05 at 6.13.45 AM.png
     
  12. JimmyjamesEU macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    #212

    Very cool! Looks like there is real progress. Any chance of testing QuickTime player export with hevc?
     
  13. Auggie macrumors regular

    Auggie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    #213
    Anyone tried installing beta 3 with a Mac flashed HD 7970 natively (i.e. without resorting to startosinstall or Terminal)?

    Trying to decide on a Mojave-compatible GPU and I need boot screen functionality since I do a lot of dual booting and I've been stuck in Windows on occasion where it just wouldn't boot to OS X after selecting it under Apple's Boot Camp control panel. Since my Windows 10 is on a SSD hardware RAID (Apricorn Velocity Duo X2) shared with my OS X, I can't simply "unplug" my Windows drive to force booting into OS X.

    Although the RX 580 is certainly faster while going for the same price as a 7970, it doesn't (currently) support the boot screen. It would be interesting to see if Apple addresses this in the final Mojave release...

    I can get a flashed GTX 680 for about $50 USD cheaper, so that's another option.
     
  14. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #214
    Tried, error at this moment.
     
  15. tsialex macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #215
    Yes, with flashed HD7870 - it's the same EFI from Sapphire HD7950 for Mac.
     
  16. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #216
    A simple PRAM reset will bring you back to MacOS, doesn't need any Mac EFI GPU.
     
  17. Auggie macrumors regular

    Auggie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    #217
    I've noticed that doing a PRAM reset can sometimes muck things up a bit and requires a bit of fiddling afterwards to get things back to normal.

    But it's an option as well. I'm really tempted with the speed of the 580, especially for PC gaming (though I haven't done any in many years). For that, I'd rather go with the 1080Ti... alas, as it requires drivers for each and every OS X update, it's not something feasible for me at the moment. Thus, the 580 is next best alternative...
     
  18. JimmyjamesEU macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    #218
    Ok. Thanks for trying.
     
  19. thomasthegps macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Location:
    France
    #219
    Could you time the encoding process when using the gpu vs cpu?
     
  20. JimmyjamesEU, Jul 4, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2018

    JimmyjamesEU macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    #220
    It could also be checked by using the free ffmpeg from here:

    https://evermeet.cx/ffmpeg/ffmpeg-4.0.1.dmg

    Once downloaded and copied to any directory, run

    ./ffmpeg -i "file you want to convert" -c:v hevc_videotoolbox -c:a copy "output name of file".mp4.

    This will throw an error if it doesn't find hardware encode support.
     
  21. h9826790, Jul 5, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2018

    h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #221
    Thanks for providing the detailed procedure, will test that and report back later.

    Update 1:

    Both H264 and H265 hardware encoding are NOT working yet.
    H264.png H265.png
     
  22. JimmyjamesEU macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    #222
    Many thanks for trying this.

    I'm in two minds now. Part of me thinks encode is coming: partly due to the fact that decode is already there, and partly because Quicktime player is failing to encode. The other part of me wonders if Apple will leave it at decode only, so as not to undermine their other, newer machines.
     
  23. killawat macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #223
    What GPU do you have now? I'm an eGPU user full time with a docked MBP, but I have to use FileVault and ever so often I have to finagle the Mac to reset it, enter my password etc at boot. I'm hopeful that Apple will give us boot screens but I don't old my breath. Perhaps you can use two GPUs which I think, one for boot screen, one for everything else, since I think that's what people are doing these days.
     
  24. Earl Urley macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    #224
    I wonder what will happen with the next OS iteration, as the QuickTime framework will be excised from macOS, due to its 32-bitness.
    Will they wind up making another rewrite of Final Cut Pro? As I understand it, it relies heavily on QuickTime for rendering and encode/decode..
     
  25. thomasthegps macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Location:
    France
    #225
    I think the plan is to add dcode/ encode for external gpus as such we should get decode and encode. I’d be pissed if apple didnt add encode support.
     

Share This Page