OK, I know this has been asked before but..

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by akadmon, Jan 15, 2008.

1. akadmon macrumors 68010

can someone tell me why I should think myself sane after paying $XXX (or) more for an MBP than I could get a Dell XPS 1530 for?

I've done my homework, and here is the dirty laundry (can you say mixed cliches?):

Attached Files:

2. ChadBrommer macrumors member

ChadBrommer

One runs Vista (Garbage) and one runs OS X, also known as the Holy Grail of OS's.

3. gescom macrumors regular

gescom

Yeah it is cheaper but then again it is a Dell your talking about. ;)

4. Batt macrumors 65816

Batt

Keep in touch from DellRumors.

5. Blanz macrumors member

6. akadmon thread starter macrumors 68010

Point taken. I have zero experience with Vista, but XP has been good to me on my work lappy. The thing is, this computer will be my daughter's college computer, so having Vista as the primary OS (I'm not discounting going the hackintosh route) would be a definite drawback, if anything because I would not be able to help her as much as I would if the lappy was running Leopard (or Win XP, for that matter).

7. ChadBrommer macrumors member

ChadBrommer

I feel you with this one. I'm going to college this fall and I'm in the same predicament. The first thing you have to ask the school is whether her they accepts Macs. Then you have to ask, "Why did I ask that first question? I can always use bootcamp and run Vista and Os X." Then go on apple.com and buy a Mac.

8. akadmon thread starter macrumors 68010

Um, I have a Dell Latitude D620, and, believe me, this is a solid machine. Also, Dell's support is actually better than Apple Care (not to mention less expensive). For example, when was the last time you had an Apple tech come to your house to fix a problem with your computer the day after you called? I bet this hasn't ever happened, nor is it likely to ever happen in the future (and not because Apple's products are flawless).