Old 15 vs new 13

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by EricAvalanche, Feb 24, 2011.

1. EricAvalanche macrumors newbie

So considering I've been needing a laptop for a few months now (been using my mom's compaq...it's dreadful) and been waiting for the new release for a while.

If I were to buy the new 13" MBP, it'd be the base model.
    If I were to buy the old 15" MBP, it'd be the 2.4 i5 model.

Are there any benefits of one over the other? They seem generally similar. Which GPU is better? I just know the new 13" has Thunderbolt and sandy bridge processors? Is there a difference in the processors? They're both 2.4(ish) i5's. Geekbench scores?

I'm a graphic design student so I will be working with adobe software (photoshop/illustrator/indesign etc) so the screen size increase is a definite plus. I'm leaning towards the 15" since it'd only be about 100 more dollars. But would I be missing out on anything? I can't spend much more than that otherwise I'd just get a new 15"...money is pretty tight.

Thanks for any future inputs!

2. henrikrox macrumors 65816

henrikrox

The gpu on the old is MUCH better then the intel 3000 hd.

the gt330 is discrete gpu, while the 13 only has a integrated chip, and its bad.

you wont notice much in the cpu deparment, due to the hdd. It bottlenecks the system. Opening programs doesnt require much power, but it uses the hdd. I would easily get the 15".

The 13 is fairly limited

3. Vantage Point macrumors 65816

I'd go with the 'old' 15" Especially with the great deals now like $1,270 for a refurb from Apple with 'same as new' warranty' or a brand new one for only $1549 from B&H and no tax

4. applefan289 macrumors 68000