Older mac mouse with new mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by FTLOSM, Aug 24, 2011.

  1. FTLOSM macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #1
    I was given an old 20 inch imac (first gen) that has a bad power supply, I plan on fixing it eventually here but had just bought a new imac 27 inch unit.

    The old imac had a white apple keyboard and wireless mouse, I wondered could I use that old imac mouse with this new imac? I am very new to macs and had put new batteries into it but didn't see any sort of sync button or whatnot, red laser type light goes out of the base and such so I know it is getting power but just not sure if it is even compatible and if so how to get it working with this newer imac...

    I got the magictrackpad and altho i do love it i would like to have a mouse to the side for now and then and for the windows side of things..

    Bill
     
  2. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #2
    Welcome to the Apple way of doing things. Everything is as simple as it should be. Forget everything you know about Windows and just let it come naturally.

    Go to System Preferences>Mouse

    Turn on the mouse. There's a switch on the bottom.
     
  3. FTLOSM thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #3
    Thanks on that, took a bit but found it (even gave it a full name of the previous owner), but got it all going now, silly but how would i change the name of this mouse (shows as kristens mouse) hehe.

    Bill

    ----------

    its an a1015 mighty mouse with no scroll ability, so doubt ill use it too long due to no scroll and no right click for windows side of things, just fun to have for now...
     
  4. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #4
    In the System Preferences, click Bluetooth.

    Under the list of items is a gear. Click it and click Rename.
     
  5. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #5
    System Preferences > Bluetooth. Select the mouse from the list. Click on the tool icon (looks like a gear) and select "rename".

    I'm currently running Lion, but SL should be pretty much the same.

    Edit: I'm just a bit slow on the trigger, MrCheeto beat me to it. ;)
     

Share This Page