Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kingston73

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Dec 23, 2015
So it's 2020, I'm considering buying my first mac ever. I've had iphones for years, an ipad since the ipad 2, and airpods. I figure I might as well fully commit and go all in but I really don't NEED a mac so I'm looking at used ones on Swappa and other similar sites. What is the oldest mac you could consider buying today? It would mainly be for surfing the internet on the couch but I'd occasionally use it for typing assignments, making presentations for my students (I'm a high school teacher). Nothing high level or resource intense.

I'd prefer keeping things under $300 if that's reasonable but I could see myself going up to maybe $500 if neccessary. Looking at swappa there are 2012's that start in the mid $200's, [macbook Pro's (13 inch).] up to 2015 Pro's (15 inch) for around $500.

Suggestions and opinions are very welcome, thank you.

Last edited:

junkw

macrumors 6502a
Jun 25, 2010
Haifa, Israel
I'd choose a 15" 2014 or 2015 with iGPU

The 15" 2013 had ghosting issues
And less than 2013 will probably be considered unsupported for next macOS versions
[automerge]1578064928[/automerge]

Last edited:

Juicy Box

macrumors 604
Sep 23, 2014
It would depend on the specs of the Mac, but the oldest Mac I would get to be my primary Mac would be a 2010/2012 Mac Pro.

For other models:

iMac would probably be a decent spec Late 2012.

Mac Mini decent spec Late 2012.

Any of the Laptops, I would go 2013-2015, although I personally prefer a desktop as my primary Mac.

Each one of these would probably be the best deal on price and longevity. They will all continue to get security updates for the next 2+ years.

Reactions: 4sallypat

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009