OMG Quad Core iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Sneakz, Oct 20, 2009.

  1. Sneakz macrumors 65816

    Sneakz

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #1
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Core i5 750 and i7 860 option at that. You definitely have the volume to do it at 27".

    The MacBook lost FireWire 400 too.
     
  3. powderd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #3
    anyone see a price for the quad core 27"?
     
  4. frick macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #4
    A desktop CPU, but still with piddly laptop graphics?
     
  5. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #5
    I guess it's a difference factor for you to go MacBook Pro. Apple needs to seriously stop doing that. Look you already have it on the 13" MBP, so space isn't a factor considering they probably have similar parts.

    I'll be honest, the new MacBook looks better than the MacBook Pro and would probably get it over the 13" MacBook Pro given the very similar specs.
     
  6. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #6
    store is not up yet. But do you mean the i5 or the i7?
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    The 2.26 GHz MacBook Pro has a good chance of disappearing today. Making FireWire an upsell is just stupid though.

    http://www.apple.com/imac/specs.html

    The 27" model has 4 RAM slots too or is it all of them?
     
  8. powderd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #8
    Well, I guess either. I'm going to buy a new comp and considering i'll be keeping this for close to 5 years i'll likely go to the quad core. Wondering what the big difference would be vs cost.

    This is my first mac, as i've had pcs for 15 years, and finally gave up on the POS. My main uses are cutting and editing home movies(the clean kind..:cool:), home pictures, some games but not serious gaming and a lot of work(spread sheets, presentations, word processing, etc)
     
  9. Sneakz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Sneakz

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #9
    Agreed. MacBook is easily at this point the better buy over the 13" Pro.
     
  10. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #11
    from the page you linked, it looks like all of them have 4 RAM slots because that feature isn't indented under the bullet that says "27" models only"
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    I thought so too.
     
  12. Quad 2.5 G5 =) macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    #13
    Well, I wonder what everyone who said "iMac will never get Quad Core Processors."
    Are they in a socket? (LGA-1156)?
     
  13. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #14
    Have to be... otherwise, how else to explain the Core i5?
     
  14. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #15
    I've said it before. With the specifications it looks like the Core i5 750 and i7 860.
     
  15. Animalk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal Canada
    #16
    Does the i7 cpu have hyperthreading enabled? That is will the OS see 8 cores instead of 4?
     
  16. rnb2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    West Haven, CT, USA
    #17
    Yes.
     
  17. Aegelward macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    As awesome as a quad imac is, i can't help feeling 27" is too big for me, it's bigger than my television (26")

    Hopefully the next rev (3-6 months or so?) will bring it down into the 21" model
     
  18. katyoshi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
  19. Bryan Bowler macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #20
    These updates are freaking awesome. Apple has really hit it out of the park with these updates!

    Thanks Steve!
    Bryan
     
  20. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
  21. Skweeky macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #22
    If anyone has that killer line that convinces their wife that it is absolutely imperative they get the new 27" iMac now, please share.
     
  22. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #23

    Obviously you need a 27" iMac and a new TV. I would have thought this was obvious. :D
     
  23. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #24
    A USB TV Tuner away from goodness.
     
  24. TennisandMusic

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #25
    Hmmm....are you doing HD home movies? I've been doing HD movies for years and tried to get along with them ok on the Mac, but truth be told, it absolutely sucks for HD editing. Maybe if you were using a mac pro with final cut studio, and you were a pro then sure. But if you're doing home AVCHD work, it's near impossible. The time and space it takes to do this makes you just want to stop. There are far far better solutions on PC for AVCHD, that completely trounce ANYTHING on the Mac unfortunately. Plus Windows 7 plays AVCHD natively, and it's beautiful. Even using Clipwrap 2.0 on the Mac (I'm a beta tester for them) it still completely sucks.

    If you're using HDV it's better for sure, but HDV is pretty much a dead format these days for HD if you're getting something new.

    I would just say be careful if you are getting a new machine FOR video editing. iMovie is complete garbage. That leaves you with some incarnation of Final Cut, or Premiere Pro. Video editing is one thing that, in general, a PC does leagues better (unless you're doing editing for Hollywood movies, then final cut pro is a good choice, but you aren't I'm pretty sure) and for much much cheaper. It's not even a contest unfortunately.
     

Share This Page