Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Smeaton1724

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 14, 2011
Leeds, UK
Anyone gone from a MacBook Pro 13’’ 2015 to a 15’’ 2016-2018 design? In terms of portability what sort of compromise have you made and do you find yourself leaving the machine in a fixed place a lot more than the 13?

I’m not adverse to larger devices as I own a 12.9 iPad Pro, however I do find myself going for the 9.7 Pro over the 12.9 when travelling - as such I’m wondering if the 15 is more of a desktop in a neat form factor versus a portable 13 laptop.

rubberducker

macrumors newbie
Nov 5, 2017
I have both a 2017 13 inch MacBook Pro and a 15 inch (thanks work!).

I would say if you don't need the power the 13 inch is by far the more portable and lovely machine to use. I would pick it every time to travel with if I just need to do basic stuff on the laptop. However I am a video editor and need as much portable power as I can take with me - which is why I have both.

Long story, short. If you don't need the power (for video editing/3d graphics/data crunching) go for the 13. You can always suppliment the lack of graphics card with that External Blackmagic GPU when you are at home.

fb3

macrumors member
Jun 20, 2017

I would say if you don't need the power the 13 inch is by far the more portable and lovely machine to use. I would pick it every time to travel with if I just need to do basic stuff on the laptop. However I am a video editor and need as much portable power as I can take with me - which is why I have both.

Long story, short. If you don't need the power (for video editing/3d graphics/data crunching) go for the 13. You can always suppliment the lack of graphics card with that External Blackmagic GPU when you are at home.

@Smeaton1724 Exactly in the same situation!