One quintillion bytes?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Lokheed, Aug 31, 2011.

  1. Lokheed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #1
    DU says I have 18 EB (exabytes) in movies on my 120GB SSD (I don't actually have any, well aside from the ones the system installs). Anyone else seeing this? That's more room than the drive advertises... feeling lucky.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Weird... probably a bug as that is impossible. Of course, it could have been photoshopped but no, I'm not doubting you :)
     
  3. wackymacky macrumors 68000

    wackymacky

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    38°39′20″N 27°13′10″W
    #3
    Lol! From the size of the bars it looks like GB.
     
  4. Lokheed thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #4
    No, no Ps. I hope it's nothing to worry about. I have little faith in my SSD these days (especially reading all the firmware problems, etc.)...

    To me, it looks like it should be 18 MB.
     
  5. baryon macrumors 68040

    baryon

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #5
    That crappy bar thing doesn't work for me either. My entire Time Machine drive is classified as "Other" while it should clearly be in "Backups". Also, it sometimes tells me that 500 GB of 500 GB is free, when actually the disk is almost full.
     
  6. AmbiguousNinja macrumors regular

    AmbiguousNinja

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    #6
    Yet another secret Apple prototype out there? Virtually infinite storage anyone?
    Anyways, like someone said, the bars don't work too well for me either.
     
  7. timotay89 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #7
    My 32GB jump drive shows the exact same 18.45 EB for movies in a small piece like that even when there are at least 6 GB of movies on it.
     
  8. speacock, Sep 1, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2011

    speacock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Looks like an overflow to me.

    18.44674EB is the value that can be stored in an unsigned 64bit integer word, so it looks like it's using a 64bit word to store the size of the data and for whatever reason, the variable is overflowing and getting set to all 1s. I wonder whether, if you booted with the 32bit kernel, would it show the size as 4.29GB (the size that can be stored in a 32bit integer).

    You should report it as a bug, it's probably just a display issue, but you never know.
     
  9. Lokheed thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #9
    Thanks guys. That's much more reassuring! As I said, starting to getting paranoid about my SSD... that's what FUD will do to you ;)

    I'll file a report.
     
  10. Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #10
    Wouldn't a 18EB SSD be awesome?

    Price point 32 000 000 000 000$, lol
     
  11. speacock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Not so long ago, when having a clearout in the office I came across an HP pricelist from 1991. At that time, HP server memory was roughly £250 for a 4MB SIMM. (I'd guess the $ prices would have been roughly the same - $250). So the 16GB RAM that I have in my current system would have been £1,000,000, I paid £60 for it.
     
  12. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #12
    Prices are always on the rise. I payed $40 for 4KB (4,096 bytes) of RAM in 1980 and that was a bargain price. My company paid about $10,000 for 32KB of core memory for a DEC minicomputer in 1974. The 8GB of RAM in my iMac would be about $2,000,000,000 (and take up much more space) with that core memory.
     
  13. zepman macrumors regular

    zepman

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Sweden
    #13
    I have the same problem. MBP 13'' Mid 2009 500GB HD 10.7.1
    Screen Shot 2011-09-02 at 18.36.14.png
     
  14. Lokheed thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #14
  15. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #15
    You got it! But it is more likely an "underflow." If the calculated value is negative, by even 1 byte, it would display as 18.4 EB.

    Apple either needs to check for a negative value in the calculations and make it zero or needs to display signed values. At least the graph gets it right!
     
  16. Megalomaniac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    #16
    After installing Mountain Lion on my MBA I had a look at my storage and I the exact same bug.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #17
    I bet if you created a small movie it would go to zero. It's just interesting that it can create a negative value (and that their display routine treats it as unsigned).
     
  18. madsci954 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #18
    :eek: Uhhh, wizard did it?
     
  19. Seamaster macrumors 6502a

    Seamaster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    #19
    I've got this happening in ML on my 2012 Air.

    Reported it to Apple.
     
  20. Seamaster macrumors 6502a

    Seamaster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    #20
    Update, in case anyone searches for this: it's fixed by reindexing Spotlight.
     

Share This Page