Online and real life; shall the two ever meet?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by FelixTheMacCat, Apr 16, 2010.

1. FelixTheMacCat macrumors newbie

Have you ever thought about how it would be if the conversations here
    at macrumours where to take place over a cup of coffee or a beer?

Im a design student currently researching social medias affect on people.
    Specifically looking at the possibility to take online discussions offline.

So i'm asking you guys right here, would you be interested in meeting up
    fellow mac enthusiasts somewhere for a chat,
    by that i mean a proper face to face chat?
    (or maybe some of you already are?)

I understand that distance between users would be a big thing to overcome,
    but then again, a large forum like this is bound to have people from the same areas connecting.

A couple of years ago I was a regular at a very techie computer forum.
    There get-togethers were arranged, people attended and where very happy with that experience.
    Has the same thing been done here? why not? / how was it?

I'm really keen on hearing your thoughts regarding the social media
    explosion and how it affects real life relations.

Felix

2. kernkraft macrumors 68020

kernkraft

Yes and I'm on my way to your place to have a bite! ARRGH!

But seriously, no. However, check out the thread about EU iPad delays. Yesterday, we identified a guy. We were mocking him for using his iPad and MacBook in a cafe in Manchester. He replied. So I think it happens.

But there are several layers of this forum, like others. People send messages to each other. Sometimes, you can even see people acting like they know what the other is going to say/write.

3. Synchromesh macrumors 6502a

Synchromesh

Heh, any girls ever came to these events from the other forum? :D

4. FelixTheMacCat thread starter macrumors newbie

haha thats a cool story, big brother sees you sort of thing.