Opinions on MBA's competitor(s)

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by lv4q, Jun 11, 2013.

1. lv4q macrumors newbie

I was initially looking to buy the Lenovo Carbon X1 because I've been a ThinkPad user for years, but since Apple came out with the new MBA, I'm contemplating on which laptop to buy. I know this is being posted in Apple fanboy/girl territory, and bias is undoubtedly there, but I'm sure there are some people that might have insightful opinions that could help me decide :)

or... you can just try to fully convince me into getting the new MBA... gogogo!

2. Agent-P macrumors 68030

Agent-P

My favourite Windows Ultrabook is the Asus Zenbook (though the Samsung Series 9 isn't a bad option either). But I currently own a MBA (well, technically right now I'm in between MBAs as I wait for my new one) because as a daily driver I prefer using OSX. However if I could afford it, I would definitely buy the Zenbook just a as a secondary computer to replace my current secondary computer (a Sony Vaio, if you're curious). I switch between both OS options regularly, so I don't have a clear bias either way.

Basically I would say it comes down to preference. Windows Ultrabooks have come a long way to actually compete with the MBA so you can't really go wrong with either of them (except the trackpad. Haven't tried out a Windows laptop yet that can compete with the MacBook trackpad).

3. barrk macrumors member

Macbook Air 13" with similar/superior specs to Lenovo X1 carbon seems to cost less so unless you like Windows much more than OSX I'd go with the Air

Zenbook seems to be in the same position as the X1 but a little bit cheaper.

4. Stetrain macrumors 68040

One thing is that a lot of the true Macbook Air competitors are still rolling out since the Haswell chips were just released.

The most interesting one to me is the Zenbook Infinity but as far as I know there's no price or ship date yet: