Ordering a Macbook without RAM?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by jrodatus, Aug 5, 2007.

1. jrodatus macrumors member

So I'm a college student buying a MBP...pretty typical, but I need 4GB of RAM for my audio work and can't afford Apple's ridiculous price :eek:. So I'm going to spring for the $200 deal on NewEgg. How can I minimalize what I end up paying Apple for memory? In other words-- ideally I'd want the MBP to ship without any memory and receive the full $500 some discount, but I have a funny feeling they won't play along with that.

What are my options? I thought of going to an Apple Store and asking them to pull the memory right there and give a discount, but I also need the 7200RPM drive and apparently the retail stores don't do CTOs. Or perhaps asking over the phone to configure it with a cheap 256MB stick?

If I have to eat the full cost, then so be it :(

2. juanster macrumors 68020

juanster

yeah i don't think that's going to be possible... it's like going to a dealership and ask them to sell you the car without the tranny because you want to put in a better one...IMO don't think it ll fly but let us know how it goes...

3. MacPossum macrumors 6502

MacPossum

Apple won't sell you a "ramless" MacBook. You can just stick with the stock ram and upgrade after.

4. mrkramer macrumors 603

mrkramer

You can't get it without RAM, but you can eBay the stock RAM and get a little back for it

5. iToaster macrumors 68000

iToaster

I believe if you buy from OWC you can then sell your old RAM to them... eBay'd work too... whatever you want.

6. neven macrumors 6502a

Even if they were to sell you a RAMless MacBook, they'd have no "RAMless price" to quote you. The base model RAM costs... how much?

It's pretty much pointless to ask; that's like trying to to haggle by asking for them to sell you a MacBook without a battery, Airport, keyboard, or OS X installed. Apple isn't Burger King.

7. jrodatus thread starter macrumors member

$550 :eek: