OS X Lion losing Rosetta

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Shivetya, Feb 28, 2011.

  1. Shivetya macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #1
    So this means my MOO2 is going to be toast? I can revert back to the Windows version through parallels but I have a few other 68x games about.

    Are there options other than not upgrading for running some of these classics?
     
  2. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    When Classic was dropped, all sorts of 3rd party emulators came out that did the trick. The same will hopefully happen for Rosetta.
     
  3. Dr. McKay macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Belgium, Europe
    #3
    I wouldn't upgrade to Lion until 1st quarter of 2012. Wait until all the bugs are ironed out. And what's wrong with Leopard/Snow Leopard ?

    I'm always one version behind. I'm on Leopard now, and will probably make the jump to SL in Summer. That way I'm sure to have a stable OS with everything patched. As long as my OS version is supported by Apple and no software really requires anything newer, I'm sticking to what I've got...
     
  4. Kyffin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #4
    ^ Very much agree. Incidentally, was surprised by the PPC applications when I checked last night- deemed more worthwhile than can see from Lion so far.
     
  5. SuperMatt macrumors 6502

    SuperMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    #5
    Did Beta versions of Snow Leopard have Rosetta support? I'm not sure that they did. It seems like something Apple would leave in, but perhaps it is too buggy to put into the Beta for now.
     
  6. Mercury macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    #6
    Can we still play Alpha Centauri? I forget what the latest code is in...
     
  7. Kyffin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #7
    I'm still waiting on an emulation for Lander/Zarch/Virus on the Acorn Archimedes. Apple went into cahoots with the company (for the educational market and risc os??) years ago and yet still no sniff of this classic game:(
     
  8. Zortrium macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #8
    It's kind of amazing that the beta OS X code to Alpha Centauri still runs on Snow Leopard, but it's definitely not Intel-native, so no Rosetta = no more SMAC.
     
  9. Mercury macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    #9
    No! Another game I'll have to play on Windows.

    On the plus side, I got Civ V for mac for free after buying it on Steam for PC on release day. Here's hoping for more cross-platform Steam games. Maybe they can start adding 'retro' classics like SMAC someday.
     
  10. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #10
    Does AppleWorks rely on Rosetta Stone? This is going to suck if it does, I have two half pages templates designed to print two sided. I'm not a Pages expert and had difficulty trying to set them up their. This might give me incentive to try again.
     
  11. JGowan macrumors 68000

    JGowan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Location:
    Mineola TX
    #11
    Can't you install multiple Mac OSs on your computer? I've had Leopard and Tiger on my computer and just picked the one I wanted and booted into it. With the OS being about 6GB (nothing today in terms of space), it might be a nice thing to have in order to keep using the stuff you need to keep using.
     
  12. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #12
    My Snow Leopard retail disk did not install Rosetta by default. I had to install it separately later from the disc, although I note it is also available as an official download from Apple. Is this what you mean, or are you saying that Lion will purposely block Rosetta, even if I acquire it via download from Apple?
     
  13. Mercury macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    #13
    Rosetta is not just an application. If you are using Mac OS X Lion, you won't be able to install Rosetta and PPC apps will not work.
     
  14. Zortrium macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #14
    Basically, this is Apple's way of getting you to gradually abandon all your obsolete applications in favor of modern ones. They don't want to become like Windows where the OS is laden down with cruft in order to support applications from 10 years ago.
     
  15. LucasG macrumors regular

    LucasG

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #15
    This, and I love it. :)
     
  16. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #16
    Rosetta and Rosetta Stone is not the same thing...

    I don't think there is any version of AppleWorks that will be able ot run on Lion... sorry.

    Just do a Get Info on your app and it'll say if its "Intel" or "Universal" or "PowerPC" ... if it says PowerPC you are out of luck... if it says Universal, it will probably work (sometimes they are kinda hybrid and still relied on a PPC part or two... bad programming)... and Intel is fine.
     
  17. Ungibbed macrumors 6502

    Ungibbed

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #17
    Think the only problem I will run into is my copy of Warcraft 3 Battle Chest.

    Both my Warcraft III and Frozen Throne expansion have PPC based installers whilst when the game is patched, I have the UB. A pain in the butt, but only a small one.
     
  18. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #18
    I may be wrong, but I think the downloadable version you can get from your Battle.net account has an intel-based installer.

    You mean that didn't work. Ferazel's Wand didn't work with them, and that's the only game that didn't get carbonized that I really cared about. Man, I miss that game.
     
  19. Dr. McKay macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Belgium, Europe
    #19
    Yes, just enter your WC3 serial on the Battle.net site and download the client from there.
     
  20. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #20
    Yea, lol, that just popped out. Damn, I guess I'm gonna have to get serious with Pages. Thanks. Would it be surprising if a Rosetta emulator popped up? Or is it way too complicated for that? Having some legacy programs might be good.

    Yeah, I have to applaud Apple for that. I mean here is Windows7 still using the Registry. Wait, does MS still think that is a good thing? It's the Windows Achilles heal. :p
     
  21. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #21
    Well, Snow Leopard Server is authorized to run in a virtual machine. So you could upgrade to Lion, then run Snow Leopard Server as a guest OS in a virtual machine.

    You could then run Pages (and other Rosetta apps) seamlessly on your Lion desktop, even though it's really running on Snow Leopard Server VM behind the scenes. If you have at least 2 gigs of RAM, you probably won't even notice a difference in performance except the load time when starting up the VM.
     
  22. cohen777 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Location:
    Lakeland, FL
    #22
    rosetta should stay

    There is absolutely no good reason for Apple to give up on Rosetta. There are plenty of programs that aren't cocoa'ized. Plus, there aren't good third party solutions for carbon or System 9 apps.
     
  23. Ungibbed macrumors 6502

    Ungibbed

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #23
    Awesome! Thanks guys :D

    Now to go back to living under my rock... :p
     
  24. coolcom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #24
    I'm on Lion, and I tried downloading the installer from Blizzard's website, I created an account, entered my serial, etc. I downloaded the "blizzard downloader" but it would not run!
     
  25. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #25
    Error message?

    Watch this thread, looks like it's not a lion-specific issue: http://forums.battle.net/thread.html?topicId=27794579180
     

Share This Page