OS X w/ Bootcamp Win7 and Carbon Copy Cloner Question.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by iimpact, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. iimpact macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    #1
    Sorry if this has already been discussed but hear is my concern:

    I'm going to install Win 7 via Bootcamp on the current HDD my MBP came with..(standard 5400 rpm drive).. On the long run, if I decide to switch to a better drive (SDD, or even 7200rpm drive), I'll use CCC.

    With CCC, would my Windows 7 still be activated ? Or would the Key only be allocated to my original drive .. ?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    CCC will NOT clone your Windows partition, as CCC can only clone HFS+ formatted volumes, and Windows 6.1 uses NTFS as format/file system.
     
  3. iimpact thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    #4
    Thanks guys, I'll look into this.

    I may need to get a new HDD before I install Win 7 so I won't waste my activation keys.
     
  4. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    I believe winclone does not work on newer than 10.6.4, just so warned.
     
  5. Mac-key macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    #6
    I've used Winclone on 10.6.6

    You should be fine
     
  6. Mac-key, Mar 26, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2011

    Mac-key macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    #7
    I've used Winclone, and I was on 10.6.6 at the time.

    You should be fine
     
  7. nikhsub1 macrumors 68000

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #8
    I have done this many times, I don't think you need to reactivate, and if you do it's not a problem, just call MS...

    1. Winclone your windows into an image onto your desktop
    2. Use CCC to clone your OS X (your windows image is included)
    3. Remake the bootcamp partition (you need to make it at least as big as what it was, it can't be smaller)
    4. Use winclone to reimage your windows partition.
     
  8. iimpact thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    #9
    Hey guys,

    thanks for all the answers / tips.

    good-stuff
     
  9. greytmom macrumors 68040

    greytmom

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #10
    You aren't going to have a problem with re-activation. You can usually use the same key a few times before Windows will instruct you to call MS, and when you call, they ask why you are reinstalling - just say "new computer" or "new harddrive" and they won't bat an eye. Last time I had to call, I think it took maybe 5 minutes to get a new code.
     

Share This Page