OSX Install On PowerBoook G4, help!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by EriKU19, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. EriKU19 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #1
    Hey Guys,

    I have a Powerbook G4 (1.33/256/60) here that i just replaced the drive in. The user doesnt have the original CD so I have a retial copy of OSX 10.3 Panther (what it looks like the laptop shipped with) I'm trying to put on.

    The problem is the laptop won't boot off the drive. I can select it using the option key, but I soon select it I get a circle with a cross through it.

    For giggles I put in an OSX restore cd from a Mac Book Pro (10.5.2) and it booted up, but wouldnt let me install.

    I deleted the parition, created it, formatted it, etc

    Will this version of OSX not install (10.3 panther)/ not compatible?

    perhaps i'm doing this entirely wrong as my Mac experience is very limited.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    What Powerbook do you have? Panther maybe too old for that machine. (But it should still boot from that cd.)
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3

    It's either the 12" or 15" model, which was released in APril 2004 and it came with Mac OS X 10.3.3. What do the Retail CD or the Restore CD say on their label? Are you sure, that what you call a Retail CD is really a Retail CD?


    RETAIL CD
    [​IMG]

    RESTORE CD
    [​IMG]

    Btw, Restore CD/DVDs are model specific, so they can't be used for differing models of Macs. No PowerBook 5,4 CD will work on a PowerBook 5,3 or any other Mac, only on other PowerBook 5,4s.
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    I don't read sometimes. But then the it should still startup from the restore cd, just not install from it.
     
  5. EriKU19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #5
    Hey Guys,

    I have Mac OSX Panther 10.3 (3 Discs) Retial (with the black disc, silver X) that I was originally trying to use to install (but got the cricle with the cross).

    The Disc 1 gave the circle cross, the Utilities disc wouldnt even boot.

    It is the 12" Model
     
  6. EriKU19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #6
    Which it did (booted off of it, wouldnt let me install though); Mac Book Pro Restore DVDs). It saw the new drive and let me format, partition, etc.

    But the older OSX retail CD's wont do anything??


     
  7. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #7
    According to EveryMac.com the shipping OS on that model was OS X 10.2.7 Jaguar and it will run anything between that and OS X 10.5.8 Leopard. The Panther discs you have aren't upgrade discs are they? How big is the new hard drive?
     
  8. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #8

    QUOTE=spinnerlys;10861865]It's either the 12" or 15" model, which was released in APril 2004 and it came with Mac OS X 10.3.3. What do the Retail CD or the Restore CD say on their label? Are you sure, that what you call a Retail CD is really a Retail CD?
    [/QUOTE]

    The first 12" PB (1GHz G4 PPC CPU, 256MB RAM, 40GB HDD), released in September 2003, came with 10.2.7, the model the OP has was released in April 2004 and had 10.3.3 pre-installed.
     
  9. EriKU19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #9
    I'm not sure if they are upgrade discs or not. The UPC on the Box just says 10.3 Retail.

    Would an upgrade disc not boot?

    Would a torrent of 10.2.7 through OSX 10.5.8 of restore media work?

     
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    I would suggest you don't.

    An upgrade disc should still boot the Mac. Does the disc look scratched?
     
  11. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #11
    Hi spinnerlys, long time no see. Unless I'm missing something this is the OP's PowerBook:
    Everymac.com: Apple PowerBook G4 1.33 12" (Al) Specs:
    Pre-Installed MacOS: X 10.2.7 Maximum MacOS: X 10.5.8
     
  12. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #12
    I think spinnerlys is right. I'm seeing 10.3.3 when using Mactracker.
     
  13. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #13
    An upgrade disc should boot, but would require a earlier version of OS X to be installed on the hard drive to upgrade. I don't do torrents, so I couldn't say. What about the size of the new hard drive?
     
  14. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #14
    Did you look at the EveryMac.com link I posted above. Isn't that the correct model?
     
  15. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #15
    The model is Powerbook6,4 like the OP's, but only the Powerbook6,2 came with 10.2.7.
     
  16. EriKU19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #16
    The hard drive is 40gb (smaller than the original 60gb).

    When i hold down option, the CD Drive comes up, but the hard drive isnt displayed. Is this normal?

    The Mac Book Pro media saw the hdd, though.
     
  17. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #17
    The hard drive will only show up if the Mac is able to boot from it. In your case, there isn't an OS on it so it will not show up.
     
  18. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #18
    So the info on EveryMac.com is wrong then?
     
  19. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #19
    Yes.
     
  20. EriKU19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #20
    Does the replacement drive have to be an "apple" drive? The original drive was a hitachi 60gb, and was replaced with a hitatchi 40gb.

    Just curious. I wouldnt think so, but with these older macs who knows.:)


     
  21. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #21
    How did you format it? Mac OS Extended (Journaled)? Apple Partition Map for the Partition Scheme?
     
  22. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #22
    No, as long as it's a 2.5" PATA/IDE drive it'll work fine.
     
  23. EriKU19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #23
    Yes.

    Then I deleted the parition entirely (after the circle cross) and it didnt make a difference. :(

     
  24. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #24
    I just looked at mine as I've got Panther Upgrade discs that I got from Apple thru the Up-To-Date program (no box they came in an envelope) and they say Upgrade on them. Apparently, that PowerBook needs 10.3.3 or newer, what version are your Panther discs?
     
  25. EriKU19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #25
    10.3


     

Share This Page