Overclocking the GT 330m Guide/Benchmarks

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by gatepc, May 29, 2010.

1. gatepc macrumors 6502

gatepc

I would first like to start off with the disclaimer that I am not good at writing guides and I am also not a pro with overclocking but here is my attempt at both. :) Also I am not liable for damages to your computer and ask fobis has mentioned each gpu even if they are the same may overclock better or worse then the next. So take my overclocking numbers for what they are worth. Experiment and try it out on your own.

Note: This guide assumes your running Windows 7 64bit, and also it assumes that you are new to overclocking.

-------------------------------GUIDE------------------------------
    1.First make sure you have a copy of windows installed through bootcamp.

2.Then go ahead and install the drivers that came with bootcamp ( we won't be using the gpu drivers but the rest are going to be useful anyway so might as well go ahead and install them )

3.After you have all that you will want to go here to get a modified driver. This will give you better performance then the bad drivers that apple supplies it will also let you overclock the gpu

4.After you have downloaded both the driver and the INF file open up the driver and it will extract the files to the directory that you choose. It will also try to launch the install but it will fail saying something like " no compatible hardware found " ignore this for now.

5.Now take the INF file and copy it to the folder that the driver was extracted too. It will ask you if you want to overwrite the file just say yes.

6.Now open up the device manager by right clicking on my computer, selecting properties, this should open a new window and on the left there should be something that says device manager.

7.Under the tab that says "display adapters" select the only device that shows up on that tab. Right click it and choose uninstall.