Pages '08 for business student?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by turnstylez18, Aug 13, 2007.

1. turnstylez18 macrumors regular

k i know there's tons of threads posting about iwork 08.
    i just really dont know if buying iwork would be a waste...

71cdn is still a lot for me...and i dont want to end up getting office 08 and wasting iwork...

basically im in my last year of university...i am a business student and used word and powerpoint a lot...i will be using pages for typing out essays and papers up to 20 pages long..

my concern is that in group projects..we keep sharing word docs to each other...although they're not strongly formatted...the fonts are generally times new roman and double spaced...
    once in a while there will be a pic...

will i have a problem transfering doc files to pages and vise versa...

also...i dont create powerpoints to much...so keynote isnt a big concern...
    but i view powerpoints a lot from my professors...will keynote have a problem viewing powerpoints...

thanks..hopefully iwork will be fine...

2. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

GFLPraxis

I haven't tried out the 08 version, but the general consensus is that iWork 08 is absolutely spectacular for page layout and creating stuff like newsletters and flyers; but if you're just writing documents, there's not really much difference. And if you're constantly exchanging stuff with Windows users, Office 2008 is probably the better choice.

3. turnstylez18 thread starter macrumors regular

i just cant wait til jan for office 08....and only be useful for one semester...

should i just go for iwork 08

4. ErikCLDR macrumors 68000

I would stick with microsoft office.

Pages is way too power hungry if you ask me and everyone else in the world uses ms office.

Since you are a business student you will probably be using MS office when you graduate anyways.

5. KD7IWP macrumors 6502a

KD7IWP