Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

spicynujac

macrumors 6502
Original poster
I am on Sequoia / Pages 14.5 and have become very frustrated with the irregular behavior on exiting a Pages document.
I mainly use Pages for work, opening a template, editing a few fields and exiting. For years, when I closed the document after editing, I get NO pop up window asking if I would like to save changes--instead it automatically overwrote my document with the edits I just made--not what I would prefer, but I figured that was just how Pages worked and I have learned to deal with it.

However, now I'm on vacation and made a couple of Pages documents for the trip (one is a Calendar with hotel and activity details each day, from the Pages Calendar template, and another is just a blank new file I use for notes on the trip). With these documents, if I open them and edit some data, and then close the file, it pops up a window asking me to save or discard changes. If I select Save, it ALSO *forgets* the location of the original document, so I now have 3 versions of Calendar.pages because one time it defaulted to the desktop and one time it defaulted to my Documents folder and I just hit enter (shouldn't have to remember the path of the document I want to save. I believe it is defaulting to the last folder I used).

In both cases, Pages is automatically doing the OPPOSITE of what I want it to do on exit--AND not giving me the option to change. The latter is the most egregious, as I now have multiple bogus documents floating around because it keeps saving new copies instead of overwriting. What is going on here? Sad to say the Windows (SAVE, SAVE AS, or DISCARD) popup is far superior to how MacOS inconsistently handles this.

Edit: I just created a new file to test, and it seems the inconsistency comes up when you CLOSE versus SAVE THEN CLOSE the document. When you close, Pages overwrites your document with your most recent edits (but what if you don't want that?). When you SAVE first, it prompts you to save in an arbitrary location (and the only choices are Save or Cancel, where cancel just dumps you back to the document and you are back at square one! Why does this "Cancel" option even exist? And it still forgets the location you are working in if you save). How do you exit without saving changes??? And why does manually saving your document not save your most recent changes to the original file, but instead creates a copy? There is already a different menu item for Duplicate, so this is very confusing! Can someone explain this behavior?
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.