Parallels

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by mikecwest, Aug 22, 2013.

  1. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #1
    Did anyone else have Parallels get broken with DP6? After installing Parallels, my virtual machines will no longer allow USB devices to be connected, Parallels gives a PID of 471.

    I don't think its a parallels issue, as it worked before the upgrade to DP6, and the SAME virtual machines, and backups of those virtual machines, still work with my backup of DP5.

    I don't know if its related or not, but there is a new file in /system/extensions/ called BJUSBLOAD.kext, which spams the console about info.plist being missing. I tried to locate this in my DP5 backup, but it is not there.

    I tried reinstalling the latest Parallels, using backups of the virtual machines, and pulling out my "clean" virtual machines. (zipped copies of a fresh windows installation.) I also tried reinstalling parallels tools.
     
  2. Krazy Bill macrumors 68030

    Krazy Bill

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #2
    I can confirm this on my end. (WinXP, Win7 & Win8). Unfortunately, I never tried connecting to USB ports prior to DP6.

    I've passed this along to the Parallels team along with a link to this thread.
     
  3. Fimeg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #3
    I am not experiencing that issue... Parallels is working fine, and I also don't have that spamming my console.
     
  4. vigilant macrumors 6502

    vigilant

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #4
    Which version of Parallels are you having issues with?

    I am running the latest beta and I don't think I've had any issues. I can verify though.
     
  5. mikecwest thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #5
    I'm running Build 8.0.18608, i don't think I am running the beta version.
     
  6. Krazy Bill macrumors 68030

    Krazy Bill

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #6
    As am I.
     
  7. mikecwest thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #7
    wish I was on the Parallels 9 beta....does anyone know the build number?
     
  8. ironman159 macrumors regular

    ironman159

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    #8
    I can confirm on my end that connecting USB devices to the VM is currently not working. I can only hope that this eventually works out, I don't want to buy Parallels 9 *just* to run it under Mavericks. Parallels have horrible update record.
     
  9. Krazy Bill macrumors 68030

    Krazy Bill

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #9
    You won't have to upgrade just to use your USB ports. :D Version 8 will be updated by the time Mavericks is released.
     
  10. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #10
    There's no guarantee that they will update 8 to full Mavericks support. They tend to release a new version with the new OS X so they can charge upgrade fees.
     
  11. Krazy Bill macrumors 68030

    Krazy Bill

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #11
    I don't think Parallels will leave version 8 "crippled" and force an upgrade simply because of Mavericks.

    If they do... I'm off to VMware.
     
  12. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #12
    They've done that in the past with I think it was Parallels 5 to 6 when going to Lion from Snow Leopard.
     
  13. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #13
    VMWare tends to do that too since it's so version specific they tend to require bigger upgrades. Not to mention implementing specific OS X things
     
  14. Krazy Bill macrumors 68030

    Krazy Bill

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #14
    Working USB ports are not "OSX things". :D And I still don't think Parallels will leave version 8 users high and dry.

    Ohhhh.... that would really piss off yours truly.
     
  15. Lankyman macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    U.K.
    #15
    They also did the same with Lion to ML. :mad:
     
  16. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #16
    Actually VMware if they've done it, hasn't done it for as many versions of OS X as Parallels has. And the funny thing is, VMware actually costs less.
     
  17. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #17
    With Parallels 9 out now, I say you should be ready to get VMware. A new purchase of VMware Fusion costs the same as the Parallels upgrade does. And you can probably get a discount on VMware by buying it at Amazon.
     
  18. vigilant macrumors 6502

    vigilant

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #18
    Anyone should look at their use and see what makes the most sense.

    Parallels was horrible for such a long time but now it's easily as stable but better performing then VMWare.
     
  19. Lankyman macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    U.K.
    #19
    I tried VMWare last year with their try and decide offer for thirty days. In comparison to Parallels I wasn't overly impressed. In fact I rated Virtual Box a better product and that is free.
     
  20. Krazy Bill macrumors 68030

    Krazy Bill

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #20
    I uh... spoke out of frustration. I really don't want Fusion. :eek: But I'll be damned if I'm going to pay a $50 upgrade fee just to get a USB port to work. :mad: I have a week coming up with nothing to do and will SPAM those bastards at Parallels into oblivion.

    Look out internets! Bandwidth is about to slow down to a crawl!
     
  21. mikecwest thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #21
    I'll have to pay $50.00 to upgrade. I bought it in July. :| Two thumbs down for parallels. I tried to submit a free upgrade request, but was already denied.
     
  22. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #22
    " OS X isn't done until Parallels won't run."
     
  23. Lankyman macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    U.K.
    #23
    Given the outcry over having to upgrade Parallels when ML was released they may well not pull that stunt again. If they do then I will go back to Virtual Box.
     
  24. Kashsystems macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #24
    They will only do a couple minor fixes and tell you they have moved up to Parallels 9. Same thing happen with me with Parallels 7 and a dual monitor bug that was fixed in Parallels 8 but not 7.

    The problem was I tried VMWare and it was such a poor product compared to Parallels that I basically waited until 9 to upgrade.
     
  25. Lankyman macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    U.K.
    #25
    I found the same when I tried out VMWare. I was genuinely suprised and disappointed by this product.
     

Share This Page