Part 2 - Elgato EyeTV 250-Plus replacement? now have a DTA box

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by ratsg, Jun 28, 2017.

Tags:
  1. ratsg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    #1
    Part 2 - Elgato EyeTV 250-Plus replacement? now have a DTA box

    I kicked off this thread, it appears, 27 March 2015.


    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/elgato-eyetv-250-plus-replacement-now-have-a-dta-box.1859901/

    Unfortunately, I didn’t receive many replies, and any new solutions.

    At the same time, I contacted Elgato at the same time that I had kicked off the thread, and they replied back with the reply that I could continue to use the EyeTv 250-plus as a pass thru device, which would allow me to record on the channel that I was on, and also to pause/rewind live TV.

    And that is what I did till about a week ago, when my EyeTV 250 plus device finally gave up the ghost and died.

    Although I’m sure I could probably go out on eBay and find another EyeTV 250-plus, paired with the DTA box it was a less-than-ideal solution from the get-go.

    2 years later, really hoping that someone out there has a workable & functional Apple Mac based DVR solution.

    I work nights, and would really like to be able to have a way to time-shift TV programs to watch on my schedule.

    TIA, I can't imagine I'm the only person who still needs something like this.
     
  2. ratsg thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    #2
    bump

    no one is using a Mac as a DVR?

    difficult to believe.
     
  3. howiest macrumors regular

    howiest

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Location:
    Left Coast
    #3
    I've been using an EyeTV HD for years. It's hooked up to my (Canadian) cable box via component connection.
    Now that Geniatech has taken over EyeTV I too am concerned about what options I'll have if my EyeTV HD box dies. I know of no other device quite like it for Mac computers.
    Thankfully Geniatech has continued to support and update the EyeTV software as well as the ability to renew the TV Guide channel listing services for North American customers.
     
  4. macdave2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    #4
    I use hdhomerun extend with EyeTV for my dvr. The prime works with cable, but you may need a cable card for it.
     
  5. howiest macrumors regular

    howiest

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Location:
    Left Coast
    #5
    I'm confused, I thought the whole point of the hdhomerun extend is for moving away from cable entirely?
     
  6. macdave2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    #6
    The extend works with an antenna, the prime is for cable. I'm not familiar with what a dta box is, so I assumed it is similar to a cable box.
     
  7. howiest macrumors regular

    howiest

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Location:
    Left Coast
    #7
    I just found the Prime device on the SiliconDust web site, and it looks interesting. I'll have to look into the cable card part of the equation. Not sure my cable provider even offers one.
     
  8. howiest macrumors regular

    howiest

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Location:
    Left Coast

Share This Page