PCIE SSD on Mac Pro 5.1 (non bootable)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mecio, Jul 24, 2017.

  1. Mecio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Hi Everyone,

    I apologise if this is answered in other threads but lot of information and new things on the market so trying to keep it simple.

    I would like a fast working drive, don't need it to be bootable.

    Which is currently the easiest and most cost effective solution to install in 5.1?
    Been looking at Samsung SM951 before but looks to be end of life. Looking for 500GB or larger.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    Kingston HyperX Predator

    Not the fastest, but work OOTB, reasonable price, available, adaptor included.
     
  3. Mecio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Thanks!
     
  4. flowrider, Jul 25, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2017

    flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4
  5. jan8989 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    #5
  6. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #6
    Looks good enough to me so I ordered one for my MacPro3,1
     
  7. Mecio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #7

    I originally ordered the HyperX but seems its end of life and order was cancelled. Does Samsung 960 Pro not work on os x 10.11? Is there any other options that would work and is readily available?
     
  8. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #8
    Received and installed my "Kingston HyperX Predator" today.
    Installation was fast and painless and the unit runs like a rocket, real nice performance boost over the MacPro's built in SATA2 bus. I use it for my boot drive and it does boot quickly.
    I do love my "boys toys":D
     
  9. c-3po macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Location:
    Europe
    #9
    Is this true? On 10.12.5 and above, natively without any hack or patch?

    I don’t wanna doubt your statement, just wanna make sure. ;)
     
  10. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #10
    Yes, but not bootable.
     
  11. c-3po macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Location:
    Europe
    #11
    Thank you.
     

Share This Page