Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

W1MRK

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 9, 2010
I have been hitting State parks, local botanical gardens, and other sites of scenic interest for my photography. At some of these locations they talk about casual photography is ok but for professional or group photography they require a permit and somewhat excessive fee in my opinion. One of these places a local Japanese garden had a tripod ban but I was able to convince the front counter girl to let me in as I wasn't going to be in the way. First time I have seen a tripod ban at a location.

I am a hobbyist photographer at the moment but I will shortly be attempting to sell some prints of my work on Etsy. I do not consider myself a pro or commercial photographer and in no way shape or form can I afford a $250 or $500 photographers fee as I am unemployed.

Does anyone here have a similar situation that you wish to sell casually and have you run into fee issues or challenges? Also is the tripod ban common?

Thanks in advance.

W1MRK

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 9, 2010
I have a slight issue with steadiness. My hands shake a bit, to the point VR lenses would not solve it. Same with Monopod.

BJMRamage

macrumors 68030
Oct 2, 2007
Longwood Gardens in PA apparently has a tripod restriction after 12noon. I was told this by another photographer as I was headed into the gardens. He said i wont be able to bring it in....this was at 11:50 so I thanked him in the parking lot and returned it before walking all the way to teh entrance.

I have never questioned it but did see a photographer with a tripod who also had a lanyard or something. I like a tripod as in the slightly darker gardens it is easier to get a clear shot with a tripod. or to take nice fountain shots on long exposure, even an amateur cold do.

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA