Person has reverted iPhone firmware: The KMAC Method

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by compuguy1088, Sep 29, 2007.

  1. compuguy1088 macrumors 6502a

    compuguy1088

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    In the Sub-Basement of Solitude
    #1
    Note: This does not downgrade the baseband, only the firmware!

    There is someone on the Hackint0sh forum that has found a way to revert to a previous firmware (but not the baseband). This seems to be verified. I'll update this when its appropriate...

    This process has been dubbed the KMAC Method:
    http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/showpost.php?p=68776&postcount=92


    http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/showthread.php?t=9016
    Link note: post linked is locked

    There is also a page on the iPhone Dev Wiki of this as well:
    http://iphone.fiveforty.net.nyud.net/wiki/index.php/Downgrade_from_1.1.1_to_1.0.2



    Here are the instructions:
    Originally posted here: http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/showpost.php?p=68829&postcount=107

    The General has done this, and posted as well the steps he has done:
    Here is the steps of how to do this with the PC:
    Posted here originally: http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/showthread.php?p=68724


    On the Hackint0sh Fourms, someone has claimed to of downgraded the baseband, this was the process this person used (This has not been confirmed):

    Original Thread: http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/showthread.php?t=9027
     
  2. sananda macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #2
    first you wanted that thread locked, now you're directing traffic to it!!
     
  3. compuguy1088 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    compuguy1088

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    In the Sub-Basement of Solitude
    #3
    Oi, because there are more and more people that are claiming this as true....it wasn't until it reached a certain point that this seemed more interesting. It could be a dead end, or it could be actually verifiable. I'm just posting it, for discussion. You cannot blame initial skepticism of this when others have though to of done this, though this thread wasn't deleted at that point.

    I quoted specifically here, that if they could prove it, than that thread was not useless. If it cannot be proven, then it should be locked. There seems to be multiple claims of it working, so it seems more possible than bunk, for the moment.
     
  4. sananda macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #4
    just thought you were a bit harsh on him. although not as harsh as the person who told him he was not welcome.
     
  5. ejrizo macrumors 6502

    ejrizo

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    reading the thread over there now and seem as its succesful :) now for the dev team to take this info and make it a one button process or something with a nice GUI lol... but i dont think i want to downgrade ... im ok with 1.1.1 especially since we figured out how to upload custom ringtones... but i would love to have the option to be able to do it. :) you know just in case :) lol
     
  6. compuguy1088 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    compuguy1088

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    In the Sub-Basement of Solitude
    #6
    Well....I've read a few posts, that were proved false. I didn't shoot him from giving the idea, there has to be some proof of this in order for it to be told true.
     
  7. compuguy1088 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    compuguy1088

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    In the Sub-Basement of Solitude
    #7
  8. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #8
    Confirmed. It works. I'm back in business. :)

    The only thing I'm going to miss is the bluetooth headset battery indicator. :(

    Here's what I did:

    1. Plug iPhone in and sync iPhone, then close iTunes
    2. Hold the Home button and power button until the screen goes black (around 8 seconds for me), release the power button but keep holding the home button.
    3. iTunes will reopen when it detects the iPhone in recovery mode.
    4. Holding ALT (on Mac, dunno in Windows) click Restore and choose the 1.0.2 firmware in ~/Library/iTunes/iPhone updates
    5. It will restore, and throw an error message when it's done. Unplug your iPhone and close iTunes.
    6. Download AppTapp 3.1 installer and run it, plug your iPhone in. It will not work, but it will take the iPhone out of recovery mode.
    7. Open iTunes and sync your phone from the backup created in step 1.

    Some notes:

    The reports of wifi not working are wrong, mine works fine.
    When I go to Settings -> General -> About it says my modem firmware is 04.01.13_G and that my "Version" is 1.0.2 (1C28)

    This works, believe it. I did it, you can to. :D
     
  9. badtzmaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #9
    OK so will this work on an iphone that hasn't been unlocked? I am a bit confused. I have 1.1.1 on an iphone i've had since day 2.
     
  10. sananda macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #10
    excellent...it's called the kmac method! he's getting the credit.
     
  11. ejrizo macrumors 6502

    ejrizo

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #11
    general if i remember correctly you were on att the legit way right? was your phone unlocked before you did this and also how did you do it on the mac? with app.tapp?
     
  12. FSUSem1noles macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #12
    I did it and can confirm it works!!

    I'm back to 1.0.2!!!!!!!
     
  13. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #13
    My post has been updated. I didn't unlock my phone, I prefer AT&T and have a legit AT&T iPhone data contract.
     
  14. badtzmaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #14
    thank you guys for the info. Does it matter which itunes version? I have 7.4.1 on the Mac.
     
  15. compuguy1088 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    compuguy1088

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    In the Sub-Basement of Solitude
    #15
    I think the person on the forums had the latest version of iTunes and it worked, at least that was mentioned in the instructions I posted from the thread.
     
  16. FSUSem1noles macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #16
    I used and have the latest version of ITunes, I'm on a MacBook Pro..
     
  17. badtzmaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #17
    OK, im going to try with itunes 7.4.1.. I have an AT&T contract iphone so here I go!!!
     
  18. FSUSem1noles macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #18
    I have an At&T contract also, my phone was never "unlocked".. just modded "hacked"..

    And as I said, this rollback method worked for me..
     
  19. ejrizo macrumors 6502

    ejrizo

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #19
    is the firmware set at 04.01.13 that general stated normal? shouldnt it be different? ... seeing as the 1.1.1 firmware is the same? anyway i guess the main question is can you get installer.app on the phone?
     
  20. Fast Shadow macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #20
    If you are someone that has successfully done this rollback, can you please answer the following questions?

    After rollback is your IMEI correct or "0049"?

    What version is your baseband firmware reporting as (starts with 3 or starts with 4)

    What version is your main firmware reporting as (1.0.2 or 1.1.1)?

    I'm trying to get an idea of what the rollback does to unlocked phones.
     
  21. thomas040 macrumors member

    thomas040

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #21
    but does this mean

    that I can go buy a 1.1.1 iPhone... revert it, and UNLOCK it still?
    or are we still missing downgrading the modem?
     
  22. compuguy1088 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    compuguy1088

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    In the Sub-Basement of Solitude
    #22
    It seems to be, though I read a post that they have not been able to reflash the baseband.....from these instructions the person mentions that bbupdater does not work:
    http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/showpost.php?p=68829&postcount=107
     
  23. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #23
    IMEI is correct, I dunno how to get the baseband firmware, it says 1.0.2, and in iTunes it says 1.0.2.

    How do I get the baseband firmware?
     
  24. ejrizo macrumors 6502

    ejrizo

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #24
    maybe im wrong but isnt that just the firmware?

    what you stated is the version... for example 1.0.2

    if thats the case go to settings/general/firmware and see what it says even tho you already said what it was earlier...

    anyway do you have installer .app running tho? and everything seem ok?
     
  25. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #25
    Need a clarification.

    If you take a stock (AT&T locked) 1.0.2 iPhone and upgrade to 1.1.1, and then downgrade the 1.0.2. Does the GSM/phone still work?

    arn
     

Share This Page